And that's why you have to pay attention.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
June 21st 2012
Published: June 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

June 20, 2012

On Wednesday, all four of us missed the first class period. Our first block of classes starts at 9:30, but we didn't get to school until 10:30. I felt really bad, but we ended up getting a late start to our day. (We weren't picked up until after 9:15, and then breakfast ran late because of that.) So we finally got to school, go settled in, and went on with our day. Yesterday was a good day for me because I was with the older students for part of the day. I ended the school day in the Moises classroom. Last week they were a very tough class for me, but this week I finally got their attention when I demonstrated that I wanted them to sit quietly and raise their hands before speaking. Unfortunately, this also meant that I had to conduct the class sitting in a chair and demonstrating this behavior for the entire class period. There was one group of students at the very back table that weren't paying any attention, but when I asked them questions they knew the right answers.

For those of you who are proponents of cursive handwriting staying in schools (like I am!) then you will like this next part... I was in a fourth grade classroom, and I noticed that all the students (with the exception of one) was writing in cursive. Then I recalled in all of my other classes the students also write in cursive. I had to ask their regular teacher, and she said that they learn right away how to write in cursive in Peru and then continue to do so. I love it! I noticed it this day because there was a boy that had wonderful handwriting. I'm serious. It's (hands down!) better than mine. If he keeps it up, he might even be able to give Polly and Silas a run for their money! 😉

Then it came time for lunch. Mmm. I love lunch. (Grey's Anatomy reference! ....Izzy?) Jaja. We were talking and then Sr. Daniel had the idea of watching a movie. We went out and bought a few (Courageous, The Green Lantern, The Descendents). Well, apparently we started the movie a little after we planned so that we could get to school on time. We ended up not getting to the language center until 6:00... We were supposed to arrive at 5:30. (Normally we would go at 4:00, but Sr. Daniel told us we weren't going to go to the first section.)

I was in the grammar class with Janina. Grammar. I love grammar. 😊 There are only two students in this class. (It serves as a bridge between the basic classes and the intermediate classes. Students only have to take this class if they don't get the required "grade" at the end of basic 9 that is needed to go on to intermediate.) One girl in this class was difficult to understand because of a sinus problem, but she is very nice. She listens very well, follows directions, tries very hard, and so on. The other girl quite a treat. She understands almost everything you tell her, she is quite advanced, and knows her material. However, she has quite the issue with following directions. Several times I explicitly said to do only one activity and then stop. What did she do? She kept moving in her book. Ugh. Then I assigned an activity where they were each going to take turns reading. By the time it was the second girl's turn, and I asked her to read, she had no idea what we were doing.... And that's why you pay attention and follow directions. 😉

Welp, that's about it for the day. Por que? Porque.

Monique

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.4kb