Watch Out South America


Advertisement
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First sightFirst sightFirst sight

Touchdown, Bolivia!
Well, South America here we are. Jordan and Ryan have both updated their blogs here so you´re probably already aware of our current location and how we came to arrive here. I´ll just say that I was dissapointed I´m not in Columbia today... but the trip isn´t over yet. The trip here was a dizzying experience, we spent most of Friday in the hostel waiting for the events of Ryan´s Camera theft to play out, and then we skipped off to the airport only to wait hours and hours for our flight. We determined it was financially prudent to spend the night sleeping in an airport lounge instead of paying for a hostel, which was a good idea in the end. However I really didn´t sleep at all, I did doze a few times in the airport but once we got on the plane at 4:30 AM I was expecting to sleep the whole way but could not, the chair and surrounding area was just far too small, the top of the seat came barely to my shoulders and my head had nowhere to rest, my legs kept sneaking into the aisle and getting run over by other people, but we got to Boliva and I for one had no idea what to expect, a nice fellow in the airport the night before had filled my head with tales of the desert and mountains, jugle and rivers, Bolivia sounded like anything and everything but where we landed was flat, warm (not humid) and tropical. Santa Cruz is nice, my appetite is back, we have a great place to sleep, we´re in a new time zone (GMT -4) and everything seems good. Our heads our spinning with what the next month will bring on our way to Brazil and we have a lot ahead with a limited amount of time. Anyhow, not too much to say about Bolivia yet, but my next update should have a lot more documentation of adventure!

Advertisement



11th January 2006

Hey Cousins!
Hi, remember me? I'm John and Audrey's daughter. Probably your 3rd(?) cousin.....YOur trip sounds awesome...watch out in Rio!! Ha Ha.. carnival is around the middle of February. I was in Germany for it and it was wild!! Rio will be even more so...don't forget the condoms.....

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 32; qc: 123; dbt: 0.1483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb