Ode to Central America


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
January 6th 2006
Published: January 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Goodbye C.A.Goodbye C.A.Goodbye C.A.

Fair thee well Central America, I´ll be seeing you again one day!
Well, before I get to our arrival in South America, I want to spend some time to talk a bit about Central America, for those of you who are curious about my perspective on how all the places I visited would rank, I´m sorry to dissapoint you but I can´t realistically rank all the stops for fairly obvious reasons. However I want to take a second to mention some of my outright highlights.

Top Four Places in Central America (No particular Order) conveniently enough, all from different countries.

*Antigua, Guatemala This was a town I absolutely loved, part of it might be biased considering my arrival there was the morning after a long nightbus, which was the night we finished our El Mirrador trek, and perhaps I simply wanted civilization, but even though I didn´t see much of Antigua because my feet were bleeding stumps, something about the city really took me and I do plan on returning one day.
*Little Corn Island, Nicaragua Even though I was violently ill here, I still had a lot of good days on the island. I will be really impressed if I ever find another place, closer to a beautiful desserted island than this. Pristine beaches, no cars, sweet warm breeze, and no noise make it probably the best tropical beach destination I found in Central America.
*Pelenque, Mexico Although extremely touristy, perhaps because we were there in the offseason it was nicer for me, but being the first true mayan ruins I ever laid eyes on, in combination with the unbelievable trip to the waterfalls the day prior, made Pelenque a huge highlight on this section of the trip.
*Belin, Mosquito Coast, Honduras This town was just one of those places I truly will never forget, with a population that was totally unknown to me, in a town with not one dock, not one road leading to it, and only a small grass field used as both an airstrip and a place for cattle to graze, this town was locked between an enormous and beautiful lagoon on the south, and a totally inhabited Carribean beach on the north. Friendly people, all to myself with no other tourists, this town was by far the best I found in Central America.


Any of the above places I would reccomend to anyone to visit, and since some of you might have been curious how all my different entries about different places measured up against one another, and how I could possibly say that so many places were ¨the best/most beautiful place I´ve been so far¨now you can get a pretty good idea of what I felt were the highlights. I´m sure for someone else who did the exact same trip they might feel differently, and it´s too bad that I was a bit sick for the last couple weeks or maybe I would have found a highlight in Costa Rica or Panama, but unfortunetaly not and this is what I have! Stay tuned for South America!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb