Warm Autumn Days


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Maroochydore
May 21st 2011
Published: May 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

MaroochydoreMaroochydoreMaroochydore

Maroochy Sunset
My last blog was a few days delayed when I sent it because it wouldn't publish so it may seem time overlaps. I have been on the Sunshine Coast for 9days now and it looks like I will be here for another week or so in Maroochydore. I am staying at Cotton Tree Holiday Park, a big camping ground that is surrounded by the river that opens out to the ocean. With the entire park so close to the water, I have been lucky enough to find a site that has water front views, perfect to watch the sunset and immerse myself in the relaxation that fills my soul. I have been having such a great time as the days slip by slowly, filled with walks on the beach, spending time with friends I made here months ago, also making new friends, reading, general relaxing, a little bit of sunbaking and a satisfying amount of work. The weather has been so amazing, give or take a few rainy periods which are actually nice because I then make myself retire indoors with a good movie and an early night, leaving me well-rested for my early morning walk.
The variety of people I have met here make this stay even more pleasurable, as I get to hear their stories about their lives and own personal travels, which afford me the opportunity to learn and make note of places to visit. In the past couple days a big group have arrived to enjoy a weekend away from Brisbane. A lively bunch in their late 40's and 50's, the park now has a youthful atmosphere, with someone to talk to at every corner. The friendly nature of all these people gives the sense we are all bonding on our travels over good conversation and alot of laughs. I have also been lucky as I am getting well looked after and everytime I need help getting something done of a physical nature, there are always a group of people willing to pitch in and help. The other day I bought a new tent to work from as my new annexe on the bus has not withstood the test of time...or rain. After assembling this 'so-called' easy to put up in 90seconds tent, which actually took 3 of us to get right in 45minutes, I discovered I had it facing the afternoon sun, which is not so good for aftenoon massages and consults. To my delight 6 of the lovely men part of the big group that got here recently, all came over with a new flooring to put under this tent, which they all un-pegged, picked up and turned around so it wasnt facing the sun. The kindness of these people had them inviting me out to dinner with them and their families at the surf club last night. With good spirits on hand we set off in the rain for a casual dinner for 20people. Sitting with this lovely and entertaining group, had me feeling like I was an old friend as conversation flowed with ease and so too did the laughter.
I am not sure how I got to be this lucky, but my travels are opening my own self awareness and also giving me the chance to really get to know others on many levels. As the occasional sadness creeps in as each new friend makes their way to the places they call home, I can't help but feel this incredible sense of happiness as I appreciate the short-term bonds that are a gift, not just for the time being but as some of these connections may linger in my memory for many years to come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb