Keep it cheap


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Beach
September 30th 2007
Published: October 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fern Gully - Trail in Cooper ParkFern Gully - Trail in Cooper ParkFern Gully - Trail in Cooper Park

We found the lost rain forest!
http://s240.photobucket.com/albums/ff253/dj_fpb/Sept%!/(MISSING)

Alright, I know, I'm a horrible person. I haven't updated in a whole 5 days. I'm just having so much fun, that by the time I have a minute to myself, I'm passed out. There is so much to see and do in this city, and some of that stuff is pretty expensive. Fortunately, Charlotte and I are patient enough to look around and find the cheap ways of surviving. Last night was our first ever experience with what the locals call 'Goon'. It's cheap boxed wine (5 liters went for $14.99), and honestly, it could be worse. It does taste like uncarbonated wine cooler, and as long as you can get it into your head that that is what you're drinking, it's really not too bad. It also packs quite the punch. The box didn't show alcohol content (not that I could see anyway) but I'm guessing somewhere around 15%!o(MISSING)r higher. We polished off a few cups of that while watching some movies in the TV room and then headed off to The Gaff for 'Power Hour'; that's free beer and wine between 10pm and 11pm. I had my fill and we took off shortly afterwards and
Cooper ParkCooper ParkCooper Park

Another look at Cooper Park
passed out back at the hostel.

Another inexpensive way to have some fun in Sydney: go to the beach! It's only spring here, but that's about 20+ degrees. Charlotte and I have gone down twice now and it's amazing. First day we went down, it was quite the adventure. We took the train to Bondi Junction and I got the bright idea to walk the rest of the way. I knew the general direction we had to go, so we set off for the beach. We ended up walking through a residential victorian style park, which was absolutely beautiful. Cooper Park is the type of park you'd pay money to see in Canada, and it'd have to be indoors.

We eventually made our way to the beach and walked around for a bit. We really didn't stick around too long because it was already starting to get late, so we made our way back to the hostel. For everyone who wants to head down to Bondi while in Sydney, a bus/train combined ticket return will cost you $7.40. Don't do what we did and try and save yourself the $3.40 by only taking the train.

Second time we went down to Bondi Beach, we took the smart way and trained and bused there. We hung out on the beach for a bit and after getting pelted with sand from the wind, I decided to head out into the ocean for a little swim. Wow, that's some cold water! After you wade around a bit in it though, you barely notice it. I got my first ever mouthful of ocean water too. It's like pouring salt into your own mouth straight from the shaker. Disgusting. While I was out there, I was keeping a good eye on the surfers. For one, I didn't want to get hit by one of them, and two, I was kinda watching there technique and how they selected there waves. I can't wait to start surfing!

There are a few other beaches in Sydney, with the other major one being Coogee which is linked by path along the coast to Bondi. We haven't gone there yet, but I'll be sure to write about it and show photo's when we do.

We've been keeping meals cheap by going to the local grocery stores and markets and buying our food instead of eating at the restaurants. Our meals right now are typically coming out to about $3.00 per person per meal, which is much better than the $15 + we're seeing at the restaurants etc. Pop is also much cheaper if you buy it by the larger size. A 600 ml of Pepsi will run you about $2.50, while a 1.2 L will run you about $2.75. I've seen 2L pop's to be even cheaper the their 1.2L counterparts.

Anyway, that's all for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Bondi BeachBondi Beach
Bondi Beach

Bondi Beach from the North rocks.
CharlotteCharlotte
Charlotte

Charlotte on the rocks north of Bondi
WavesWaves
Waves

Before...
WavesWaves
Waves

... after


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb