Not a good day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Palm Beach
December 2nd 2009
Published: December 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Left the anchor at dawn. Ran with the two boats that I rafted up with in Vero Beach. Nice people. They ran at different speeds than my boat is used to and I think it vibrated a bracket off of my heat exchanger. This caused a leak. I made it to the anchorage which is in a place called Lantanna just south of West Palm Beach. Found the leak and got a piece of rubber to try to clamp it around the heat exchanger but the clamp is too big. Hope I can catch one of the other boats before they leave and see if they have a smaller clamp. If not I will have to dinghy to the road and hike to find another. I have the hoses hooked back up so if it comes up a storm I can fill the radiator with water and try to reset an anchor if I drag. Hope I don't get in a big storm on the only night I don't ahve a good motor. Tomorrow I will try to get a clamp around it and see what happens. Worst would be I get sea tow to tow me to a marina and spend lots of money. Best will be I get it fixed long enough to findthe cheapest heat exchanger I can get online. I think getting someone at a marina here to do it will cost over $1000. I tried to call on my radio but it ran out of battery at that particular instant. I still have the fixed radio and I think a way to put AA batteries into the handheld. Wish me luck tomorrow.

Oh well I have been really lucky so far it had to happen sometime. They say that the difference in an ordeal and an adventure is attitude. Mine is not that great right now but we'll see what happens tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



2nd December 2009

I'll be in the keys by the new year!
I just had my vacation request approved and I'm planning to be in Key largo by the morning of Jan.1 Lets hang out. Also keep me in mind if you have anything you need hauled down there. good luck with your heat exchanger. Frank seven five seven 817-3763
2nd December 2009

from Kay
Hey Don, I finally got back to work today. How are things going? Looks like no blogs recently. I told everyone here about seeing you - Kay
2nd December 2009

marathon
I may be in marathon. Give me a call. My number is 804-651-4432. Call anytime if you have verizon if not call on week ends.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb