NASA!!!


Advertisement
Published: April 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I drove to The Kennedy Space Centre (NASA), which was about 50 miles away. A lot of the main roads charge tolls, most of them are only about 75c, but there are so many of them that it soon builds up.

The Kennedy Space Centre was GREAT!!!!! I went on a Shuttle Simulator, which was fun, and saw lots of Rockets and Shuttles which have already been to space and back, amazing. ‘Lunch With An Astronaught’ was very interesting. We had a buffet (included in ticket price) in a large dining hall and John McBride from ‘Apollo 9’ spoke about his experience as the last person to walk on the moon. The next trip to the moon is planned for 2020 with a trip to Mars in 2030. The ‘Up Close Tour’ took us on a bus around the whole campus, past the main NASA building where they build all of the Rockets/Shuttles and took us near to the 2 Launce Pads. Because there are two shuttles on the Pads at the moment we were only able to get 1 mile away from the pads due to security and health and safety reasons, but it was still a great view!!!!! I am sad though as the Rocket I was going to see launch on the 28th has been cancelled again until the middle of May.

I saw quite a few Alligators and Eagles as we were in the bus at NASA, the whole island is a nature reserve.

I took a different route back to the hotel and saw the kind of America that you see on TV, rural towns with houses randomly placed, mobile home parks and little local petrol stations. There are way too many road signs over here!!! A lot of them seemed pointless and the ones giving directions never seem to be placed directly above the right lanes and they don’t give you much warning either. But I have picked it up quite well; I just need to stop trying to get in the wrong side of the car! It is all fun!

I managed to do NASA in one day instead of two so I can save another day on my schedule, tomorrow I am going to SeaWorld.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



24th April 2009

Yay!
Yay - Seaworld is so much fun honey - ya gonna love it!! :-) So glad Nasa was as fab as you wanted it to be! A shame that you're not gonna get to see the rocket tho..BOO! :-( I think you should tell them you flew over the specially for it and that they have to do it!! lol :-) Have a great time at Seaworld...sit at the front in the shows...you'll see why!!! :-) Jem xx
24th April 2009

The best place ever!
Hi Lu! You'll love SeaWorld - it is absolutely amazing. Can't wait to hear about it - post a blog ASAP! Did you see the snow falling on the penguins? Isn't it cute! Take care xxx
24th April 2009

Hello miss adventurer
Nasa sounds amazing, i am wishing now i really should have gone with you. Im so glad for you the holiday just sounds BRILLIANT!!!!!!! Is it all what you imagined it wouldbe like or even better? I remember when i went to Florida everything looked big and better than England. Shall i get the next flight out? lol steve
25th April 2009

Great Holiday!
See, I said you should have come! :-) The holiday is going really well thanks. Had a bit of a problem with the Miami hotel, but sorting it out. Everything is so much bigger....the cakes in the bakery are HUGE!!! And the sweets that we have in the UK are at least twice the size over here. When does your flight land?..... :-) Lu.
25th April 2009

SeaWorld!
Hi Adie! You were right, SeaWorld was great, especially feeding the Dolphins. The Penguins are about the only thing I didn't get to see, but everyting was great. I hve now put pictures on my Blog. Take care. xxx.
25th April 2009

Rocket!
Hi honey, you are right, they should launch the Rocket just for me! I have planned the holiday so much....they are NOT allowed to let me down!!! :-) I did sit very close to the front at SeaWorld, I was so wet that I needn't have had a shower this morning! :-) Hope your flat situation is going well and that it is not causing you too much stress, take it easy. Take care. xxx.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb