This week ...near the end of Sept


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Northwest Territories » Yellowknife
September 20th 2008
Published: September 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Free Vegetables...Free Vegetables...Free Vegetables...

On my way to work I pass this Garden out in front of the Northern Families Resouce Cente. One morning there were three people picking vegetables out to eat. There are still beets, carrots and potatoes there. I think this is a great idea.
This week

Its funny that the main thing I have the urge to talk about is my walks to work in the morning. It was rainy and cold here almost all week. It warmed up to 4 degrees Celsius this afternoon. There are digital signs up on the street that tell you temperature. Yay. The school board sign also shows the day of the week in English, French and one of the Native languages here. I haven’t figured out what language it is yet. The puddles on the road were frozen solid on Monday morning but in many ways it reminded me of Kamloops with the clear, bright, blue sky and crisp dry air. But, then it turned into drizzly, cold weather again, not frozen but cold and damp. I get a real work out walking the dog in the morning when its raining because I go around the trail as fast as I can - Speed walk. I was glad when my coffee spilled o my hand that morning… I’m going to have to find a warm jacked soon. Dakotah still just wars a hoody (that’s bunny hug for you Saskatchewanians) I also picture that this town is like
Morning City ViewMorning City ViewMorning City View

Twelve green lights. Dakotah pointed out to me that all the lights switch at teh same time. Its funny to stand and watch the lights turn. I took this picture that really cold morning at 7:20 am on my way to work.
Newfoundland towns because there is so much rock. Everything is built around the rock. There are rock outcrops sticking up in the neighborhoods between houses and the sidewalks go up and over the rocks. They would have thought it was absolutely absurd that the builders in Kamloops took down that huge rock hill to build the Chapters store.

This week at work I went to a few meetings, read up on my file, learned a new computer program and signed up for some training. I got to meet a number of god people from several agencies who I will be working with over the next ten months. Also this week I got notice that I qualified for the job I interviewed for in Calgary and have another interview coming up in Edmonton for a different position at the end of the month. I will spend the night in Edmonton with my good friend Sue and meet her son. I am excited about that. I am going to fit in some shopping time in too before flying home. Then the day after I get back I do the Arctic Predator Response and Firearms training. I can’t wait. That’ll be great.
The digital sign I see every day The digital sign I see every day The digital sign I see every day

There you can see the three languages posted on the School District sign. I almost got a picture of this sign saying 0 degrees that morning... That white building in the background is where I work... 5th floor - in the penthouse.
I just hope its warm during the field day.

Oh Ya, 80’s Retro Dance Party tonight! WooHoo. And we’re getting our Washer and Dryer tomorrow. Exciting.

Take care everyone.
Bye.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.136s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb