Where to start?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
July 21st 2011
Published: August 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The summer months are here. With our friend La Nina being the current weather pattern, we have been having a wet and colder then normal summer. Kind of like a typical Sydney winter really. I'm currently working part-time at the golf course and baking bread fulltime at Purebread which is a local bakery just south of Whistler. Basically I had to step down from doing fulltime hours at the Golf course seeing I was getting called off alot in the early part of the summer. I'm doing around the 60 hr per week mark. Great for saving money but i'm also happy it's only for another 2 months. The people at the bakery are really nice and I could see myself in the future working there for summers. Unfortunitly the head baker has gone on holidays currently and last night was my first time (in a while) being incharge of 3 kids that had worked there longer then me. Of-course I was thinking they would be on the ball and thinking ahead and keeping standards high seeing I had already talked to them about this. How wrong was I! Looks like in future I will have to be continusly be looking over there shoulders and I have an understanding of what each are doing and why. Cause with me having to continue to fix things means I loose track of what I'm doing. So it would be easier to just keep tabs on everyones work. (frustrating)!
On my days off I've been doing hikes around Whistler and Squamish which is just down the road towards Vancouver 45mins. I've been to: Loggers lake at Function Junction and Walked the north-side of Flank trail which started in Function and went to Rainbow park. Last week with my buddy Jon we hiked the Chief in Squamish. From what I believe it's Canadas version of Yosemite national park, as being a rock climbing hub. There are 3 lookouts up top. We went to lookout 2 which was just under 700metres of vertical from the parking lot below. The gradiant walking up is steep and I would only recommend this walk to very fit people. We took 1h15min to get to the top. The walk starts off with a couple of hundred stairs and then goes into (switch backs) and generally step rock and dirt walking. Just before the top is a narrow rock section you need to squeeze threw with the help of chains to pull yourself up. Then there is a ladder you need to go up which puts you onto a steep rock platue. Only 100 yards after that you come to thin air with a sheer rock face which looks over Squamish and Howe sound. This is one of the most amazing views you will ever see (especailly after earning it).

About two weeks ago I was standing at the bottom of Bike park and had Greg Watts go past me to get the Chair lift up. This guy is in the top 3 in the world for big air and slopestyle on mountain bikes.

Now as for my job situation; I'm doing part-time at the Golf club and fulltime hours at one of the bakeries (Purebread). I ended up taking an offer from one of the bakeries up and started work there. Then 1 day after starting I was offered more cash at the other bakery and a better job description. So I told the original bakery I wanted to step down to parttime hours (with the plan to leave in the coming weeks) but when they got word of me working at another bakery they fired me on the spot. This outcome was how I was hoping it would pan out seeing it meant I got a payout of hours and it freed me up for only 2 jobs. Originally in my trial days at both places I was seeing which one I wanted to work at the most. They thought they were both interviewing me but I was interviewing them really! The wage at the first place was a 'piss take' for my qualifications but took it up anyway just incase. When the first bakery caught wind of what I had done, I get the impression they worded out I was the one that infact who had the upper hand. Now my housemate is the one that took over from me which worked out pretty good for him seeing he was still looking for work.

Now for my current job status: I ended up quiting the Golf Club 2 saturdays ago. 60 hour weeks doing 15 hour days just couldn't keep it going. I'm still feeling the effects now! Lucky I did quit the Golf club, cause i got a 50 hour week at the bakery coming up. The bakery is going well and I have settled in nicely!
I was originally booked on a holiday home in early oct for 4 weeks. But work wants me to stay around 2 weeks longer which they new about all along. So they offered me to change my air ticket so I could stay till the 16th of Oct. So I was more then happy to do this! So the only thing is I will be back for 3 weeks now seeing I got to be back in Whistler by the 2nd week of Nov for the start of Ski School.

Last thursday night I got up close and to personal with a Bear. Was at bakery and put a rack of product outside for a few minutes to make some space. (bad idea) In that time a bear had come and was balancing on the wire fence trying to get at the rack from the top. I basically walked out back and noticed the rack was on a 45 degree angle. So i walked up to it confused why is was like this. I was meet with a big black hairy bear looking down on me. We ended up bear spraying it which is like (pepper spray) and it left back over the fence where it come from. We got the RCMP out but there was nothing they could do. I think they might have filed a report about it in regards to the bear in question seeing it was tagged. Tagged bears are normally the aggressive ones to. So putting food outside with bears around may not be the greatest idea in the future.

Summer has finally come over the past week. We have had clear skys with 20 plus temps which have been nice.

Over the past week summer has finally arrived. 20 plus temps with sunny skys is just great to see.

Hopefully not to confusing!? Wrote this over 1 month when I had the chance.

over and out.......





Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb