1 year back in the mountains (A few months late).


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
August 25th 2011
Published: March 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Summer is here, (well kinda). Warm days and cool nights could be classed as summer I guess. We have had patches of 25 degree days and then rain for a few days. Not that I'm complaining tho! Only if winter would last longer is what I think.

Anyway. Work has been busy which is great for the bank account. Working 6 days at the moment doing around the 45hours per week mark (which is enough for me). I've got only 7 weeks of work for the summer to go before coming home for 3 weeks in mid October.

Apart from work I've bought a new pair of (Head Supershape Magnum skis). I needed a training pair so I could seperate my teaching and training pair but still have the same kind of ski. My teaching pair get all beat up by the kids and there now my rock skis for when it's early season conditions aswell. I got offered this set of skis for the buyers price. So a half price pair of brand new skis already with bindings mounted; I was totally going to be in that!
I've also been getting up the mountain often doing the whole touristy thing which is a nice change of pace to escape reality for a few hours at a time. The mountains are starting to come back to life after a harsh winter. I was up there today and the flowers are starting to come threw and the snow has melted in most of the hiking trails areas.

On the other hand tho, the trees in the valley are starting to turn yellow and loose there leaves which means winter is just around the corner (which is so exciting)!
On Sunday we had a big name Canadian band (Barenaked Ladies) in town. They performed a free show in the medals plaza in the village to around a 10,000 person crowd. It was a fantastic concert and even tho I didn't know alot of the music the band members were very interactive with the crowd which made the crowd very upbeat.
As for how my Residency application is going; we have progress! The last document I've been waiting for from my Surgeon for a few months now is in the post to my parents from the Surgeon. They then will get it Certified by a JP and send it off to me so I can FINALLY send my application in.

Sept 1st
Judging from the weather of the past 3 days I'm starting to think summer has gone and Fall is starting to kick in. We had our first snowfall in the surrounding peaks of Whistler 2 days ago. Also temps seem to of dipped off alot, so we are back in jumpers and long pants during the days.

I've also been accepted to stay in staff housing for the winter, which is a weight off my shoulders. So where I currently am at Westside staff housing is where i'm going to stay for winter. So little to no moving will be required and i can leave all my gear in my unit while i'm back in Australia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb