The Stanley Cup playoffs and Summer has been cancelled.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
June 19th 2011
Published: June 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bush GolfBush GolfBush Golf

Up back of my house.
Well it sure feels like it has been! The weather has been raining and cold and not like summer from anywhere. Kind of like the Aussie winter around the Sydney area. The tradeoff is the snow is sticking around which is good I thing, seeing I'm missing Skiing already.

With the weather and the way the world is with money at the moment, things have been super slow at the Golf Course and I have had lots of opportunities to get out and play, seeing I keep getting called off from work. So I decided to go out job hunting to test the waters of whats out there. Over the past week I have been doing trials at 2 local bakeries near to Whistler which even my Golf Course boss (has encourage me to do). Mon, Tues and Thurs I worked at a bakery that is more on the side of Cakes and Pastries and on thurs afternoon, Fri, Sat, Sun I trialed at a Bread bakery that does some Pastries aswell. The first bakery offered me a job on the tuesday morning starting this coming week with a $13 per hr wage which wants me fulltime, which is what I'm looking for. The second bakery today offered me a job on the Bread side of things which is more of what I'm at eaz with and has asked me to (pick my own price).
So my current status is I have 2 bakerys who have offered me fulltime hours (which I've already said yes to the first one) and a Golf course that now needs me fulltime. So I'm going to start at the first bakery this coming week, which is only 3 days work currently seeing there waiting for someone to leave at the end of the week which I would jump into there roll. But if I can get more money at the second bakery I'm going straight there for my fulltime work instead. Also after my shift on Tuesday I'm going to call back the Bread bakery and put an offer down for my wage and see when I can start. At the moment I'm thinking of doing the first bakery casual like 2 days per week and doing the second one fulltime seeing my wage is going to be alot better. Anyway by the midweek I will know foresure what I'm going to be up to.

Two fridays ago I went down to Vancouver to take my (English language exam) to ensure I could speak Canadian (not Australia) for my Residency application. The reading part was so much harder then I thought. We had half an hour to listen to a CD and write anwsers to match what was being said. I feel so sorry for the people that English was not there first Language. Also I had a writing test where I had to write two seperate Essays in 1 hr on predetermind topics which I thought I "hit it out of the park"! Then there was a 15 minute speaking test 'one on one', which I thought the same. I get my results in the post early next month. Also while down there the Vancouver Cancucks hockey team had there 2nd last playoff game at home which they won (fortunitly). I had to stay in Vancouver on the Friday night seeing I had an early start for the exams the next day and was lucky enough to stay a few hundred metres from the Stadium. Once the game finished the amount of passion and celebrations by passing cars horns and people cheering out of the appartment windows and running down the streets waving flags was something I've not seen before and was similar less the fireworks of how the europeans celebrate after winning soccer games. It was great to be part of!

Alot of my time has also been going into coordinating getting all the right documents put together from old employers and getting them to put the right information in the references and reminding them to write them out (a very pain staking process) of doing it properly the first time seeing it just delays the process by months at a time if not done properly.

Apart from that I've not really had to much time to be up to much more which is great.

I will keep you updated on how the job situation goes and if summer decides to come. 😊

Here are a few pics from Spring.

Until next time


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

AlexAlex
Alex

A good friend from Ski School
Simon Dumont/ TJ SchillerSimon Dumont/ TJ Schiller
Simon Dumont/ TJ Schiller

Simon on the left has the world record for the biggest jump off a quater pipe.
038038
038

The red jacket I where on Sundays when I guide up and coming instructors around the mountain.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb