Wilkommen to Berlin!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 25th 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church by dayThe Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church by dayThe Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church by day

This church is now a monument that reminds everyone of the destruction of war
I arrived in Berlin lunchtime Monday, the weather was hot and sunny and the local smiles were all genuine as I walked through Tegel Airport and grabbed a cab to my Hotel (The Hotel Concorde) which is just off the Kurfürstendamm, Berlin's major shopping strip.

I think the Hotel Concorde was a great choice. It is probably a touch corporate but a level or two above the Hilton Riverside in London and it does have a substantial mini-bar! After a painless check-in (again assisted by extremely friendly staff) I head upstairs to my room for a quick shower.

Refreshed, I headed out into the street for the usual reconnaissance mission to get an understanding of my surroundings.

Very close to my hotel is the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche (Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church) The original church was built in the 1890s however it was badly damaged during World War II. It is now a memorial that symbolises the destruction of war and is quite a stunning landmark, particularly at night.

After taking some photos of the church I continued to wander up the Kurfürstendamm weaving in and out of the shops whilst resisting the temptation to buy. Many of the shops bear familiar names (Bennetton,
The bombing of the Kaiser Wilhelm ChurchThe bombing of the Kaiser Wilhelm ChurchThe bombing of the Kaiser Wilhelm Church

This photograph was taken on the 7th of July 1945. (Courtesy of the Imperial War Museum)
H&M, Tommy Hilfiger, Gucci, Luis Vuitton and others).

Having travelled as far as I wanted to go (without feeling too far away from the hotel) I headed back to the hotel for a siesta before grabbing some dinner in the hotel's restaurant, Le Faubourg

It was then back to my room to prepare for the next day which will include a visit to the Brandenberg Gate, the Reichstag, Checkpoint Charlie and one or two other places in between.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church at duskKaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church at dusk
Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church at dusk

The church is probably more stunning at night.
The Hotel Concorde BerlinThe Hotel Concorde Berlin
The Hotel Concorde Berlin

This sleek hotel is well positioned close to Kurfuerstendamm and its many shops
My RoomMy Room
My Room

Very comfortable with a great shower and of course mini-bar!


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 17; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb