Dinner at Marjellchen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 25th 2009
Published: August 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

VeltinsVeltinsVeltins

I enjoyed a Veltins with my meal. I'm sorry I didnt take my camera to the restaurant to capture some images.
Perhaps I chose the wrong day to eat at Marjellchen, a traditional East Prussian restaurant with old fashioned furniture and jovial hosts in the Charlottenburg district of Berlin (about a 20 minute walk from the hotel).

It was a hot day here and it was much warmer inside the restaurant than out in the street. The larger than life owners who obviously enjoy their food, served up a delicious dinner however it was extremely rich and best suited to be eaten during the winter months.

I started with some potato and shrimp soup that arrived piping hot and as a main ordered the calves liver with baked apples and onions with mash potatoes. The servings were as large as the owners and there was probably enough food for two.

I cannot complain about the quality of food or service , however it was not the day for traditional East Prussian food and I have made more intelligent food decisions in my life.

The only annoying part of the evening was the sound of two English tourists who had obviously been advised to butter up the host to keep him happy. I'd never heard such rubbish come from the mouths of two people

....ooooh the food is absolutely divine! You must give our compliments to the chef!

this must be the best restaurant in the whole of Berlin!

they cried, accompanied by lipsmacking gestures to the owner and his wife. A good restaurant it is; the best in Berlin it is not!

I think salad will be on the menu over the next couple of days in Berlin. Having said that within 24 hours I may be keen to try some more traditional food , even at the expense of my stomach!







Advertisement



26th August 2009

where is the football
All this culture and food. Where is the football Chris. Hertha BSC Berlin v Brøndby IF @ Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn Sportpar - Berlin on 27/08 By the way goals are great on thursdays.
26th August 2009

Football or Food and Culture?
Dont worry Mark, whilst there is no football for me in Berlin I am going to watch FC Barcelona next Monday!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb