Berlin the awesome city!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
October 8th 2006
Published: November 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So now I'm in Berlin after the five hour train ride of boredom and it's the day after my dinner with some students from Switzerland who are on a uni trip. It was good to wake up sober but I still can't work out what day it is today and I do have laundry to do. So stolling down stairs for breakfast I got a big surprise, Bruce from Oktoberfest was staying at the same hostel as me which meant we had to catch up for beers! That would be later as it was still morning, though it's never stopped me before ;-)

That day I just strolled around the main strip on Oranienburger an checked out this cool place which by day is kind of a gallery of grungy art and by night turns into a crazy weird bar. Anyway, out the back is just a whole heap of sand with huge metal letters laying on the ground and heaps of graffiti. The rear of the building looks like it was bombed or demolished at some point as you can see where walls and floors once were but aren't anymore.

After my adventure around I ran into Bruce down the street who was heading to the Pergamon with a couple of friends, so I tagged along. It was a pretty cool place, I mean they stoll the huge freaking Pergamon alter and reconstructed it inside a bloody museum! Not only that, they also took the giant Ishtar gate from Babylon and stuck it in another wing along with the Babylonian processional way! Crazy Deutschlanders, really who does that?

Well after all the learning of stuff it was off to the hostel where we had an Italian, Paolo, cook pasta for us while we drank beer and took stupid photos. About three hours later the pasta and sauce where made (how long does it take to boil water?) and Bruce and I were starving and on our way to being drunk. Then came Paolo's bitching about how bad the pasta was and that if he cooked it like that at home he would be deported, get over it mate, it was pretty bloody good! So we all scoffed it down and continued to drink more, as you do when you've already had enough, and had a very enjoyable evening.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The Babylonian processional wayThe Babylonian processional way
The Babylonian processional way

It was actually around three times wider and a lot longer too.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb