First impressions of Oktoberfest


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
September 23rd 2009
Published: September 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

HippodromHippodromHippodrom

The Hippodrom is the most famous tent although it is one of the smaller ones. The inside was as brightly decorated as the outside.
I arrived in Munich this afternoon after taking the train from Innsbruck. The town is hopping as the annual Oktoberfest celebration has been underway for a few days.

When I got to the station at Innsbruck, there were a handful of men dressed in lederhosen who were obviously heading to the festival. I wonder of they go for the day since it’s close enough in proximity.

I checked into my hotel without a problem. It’s in much better condition than the hostels where I’ve been staying but it’s missing that social feel that the hostels have offered. Hopefully I’ll be able to make up for that by meeting people in the tents.

After sorting my things, I went out to scout Theresienweise, the location where Oktoberfest is held. Theresienweise is just a short ride from my hotel on the metro. It’s a bit of a hike but nothing that inebriation can’t overcome.

I had no problem finding my way around. The metro was packed with people in their Bavarian garb - just follow them.

Theresienweise was not like I expected it to be. My expectations were that it would be a large grass field with a
Dizzy rideDizzy rideDizzy ride

This one struck me as odd. Or someone's sick joke. Let's see what happens when we take people who have been drinking beer and eating sausage all day and put them on a fast spinning ride.
number of huge beer tents and maybe a few stands for food and souvenirs. It actually reminded me more of a boardwalk-style amusement park with a number of huge tents and pavilions. There were tons of young children, rides, carnival games, take-away food stands and, of course, people.

I explored a few of the beer tents to get an idea of which I’d like to visit when I participate in the event. Inside, the people were singing and cheering as Bavarian bands played anything from traditional German music to YMCA. Many of the men sported lederhosen and hats while the women (young and old) put forth best efforts to show what God gave them.

Beer and Bavarian food was everywhere. Some frauleins carried 6-7 liters of beer at a time while others brought chicken, bratwurst, sausage, deli meats and cheeses to the tables where everyone drank. Occasionally, someone got the urge to stand and chant and s/he was joined by others at his/her table. Sometimes coordinated bobbing and weaving on the benches went on when the mood struck.

I took laps around several of the beer tents but didn’t have a single beer. I arrived a bit
Funny houseFunny houseFunny house

Another one of the amusements was a fun house. This one has a mirror room, wobbling floors and conveyors. Again, someone is toying with the drunks.
late today and the tables were packed and the ticketed sessions were starting. I’m not worried - I will be back.

After my scouting mission, I took a walk around the rest of the city. I saw Marienplatz, the Residenz and went down to the Hofbrauhaus.

Tomorrow, I’m going to the tents early if my cold subsides. If not, I’ll give it one more day and take the Neuschwanstein tour instead.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb