The folks in Hondo


Advertisement
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The folksThe folksThe folks

In a bar in Copan
So got the folks at the airport and we took a taxi back to Comayagua. I did laundry while they napped. We went through all the suitcases of things mom brought for me, including about 5 pounds of chocolate!! As well as some nice Chirstmas gifts that couldn't wait for Christmas since I would be traveling on after they left. We walked to the school got them to see where I actually work and to the Jumbo where they had thier first bag of water. We walked by the plaza and had dinner at Ricardos.
The next day we went to the base. Something I was excited to do as it seemed such an off limits area to me all along. It was a mini America and I realized why it could be a good idea to work for the DOD... you might be far away and in another country but you always have a subshop and PX to get your good -ol american food. We bought out all the campbells tomato soup!!! A fact of which Karen ( a teacher whose husband works at the base) was a little upset about when she went to buy some. Had a sub
ChristmasChristmasChristmas

On the plaza in San Pedro Sula... apprently this couldn't happen in the states anymore... a nativity scene
and a fountain coke with lots of ice and free refills! WHERE AM I?? We ate at El Torito, a restruant all my students always talk about and then had a drink at Morgans.
Next day we were up early to bus it to San Pedro. Got a room at the Gran Hotel Sula. We walked around some and enjoyed the hotel. We got in on Christmas eve and of course teh next day was Christmas. Most everything was closed so we stayed around the hotel. Took a taxi to dinner and turned out our driver lived in Colorado Springs for a few years! He spoke English and we got his number to be our driver the rest of the time.
Next day we bused to Copan. Met the principal from the bilingual school here who, in am attempt to recruit me, was kind enough to show us all around the city and find us a hotel. After seeing Copan I would love to live here over Comayagua anyday, if only just for the resteraunts but the pay was nearly half what I am getting at my school and I can't do that if I actually want to travel. We
Kari and Pumpkin pieKari and Pumpkin pieKari and Pumpkin pie

If there's anything I miss more than friends and family at Christmas it's pumpkin pie.... how, oh how did it happen to be in Copan! It was sooo good
went to one of the ruin museums in town. Had a drink at a bar with a bartender from Fort Collins!! And then on to dinner.
Next day we went to the ruins, which were quite impressive and very spread out unlike Machu Picchu which I guess is what I was expecting.
Next day we bussed it back to San Pedro and the next day they left.

On a more recent note... this new year is not starting off too well. I think a lot of it has to do with realizing there are still 6 more months till I am back in the states for a bit and realizing that Honduras is not Chile.... yes, I still miss it even after nearly 3 years! And of course I have a pretty significant birthday coming up which isn't helping me too much either. As well, I got some really sad news yesterday. I learned that a friend of mine from Chile died about 2 weeks ago. It is such a feeling of hopelessness being so far away and unable to be with anyone who once knew him. I don't know what to do. My aunt and uncle are in Honduras now and I will meet them in San Pedro tomorrow.... I still need to write about my travels in Guatemala and El Salvador.. hopefully soon.
Take care and happy new year. Love, Kari


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

PlatePlate
Plate

Another one!! Saw one in La Ceiba with Fred too but didn't have my camera
SmileySmiley
Smiley

Welcome to the ruins


25th January 2007

I'm sorry to hear about your friend. I know you're having a hard go at it lately Kar.... Hope things are better very soon.
30th January 2007

an error
just realized I wrote it's been 3 year since Chile but I was wrong it will be 2 years in March...
19th February 2007

finally got your blog sorry to hear about your friend enjoyed the blog will write more on regular site, you got some good pictureds cant' wit to see all of them

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb