My new favourite city


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
March 24th 2007
Published: March 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well it's about 9.40pm (don't actually know the real time as everyone here tells you something different and to be honest until we have to get the 7am flight to Lukla on Monday it doesn't really matter!) and the four of us have arrived safely in Kathmandu.

What a fantastic city. It's like a mega chilled Udaipur. Thamel, the place we are staying in is a rabbit warren of winding alleys, cool shops selling all sorts of things, carpets, clothes, jewellery. I could spend a fortune here except that there is no room whatsoever in my bag. And I don't understand how that can be as I have brought very few clothes and no 'products'. Strange.

The Tibet Guest House is brilliant and possibly my new favourite hotel in my new favourite city. We've been upgraded to a 'deluxe suite'. The bed is divided from the rest of the room by a curtain. I think that's very cool although I'm not at all sure why. We landed at about 4ish (possibly) and Phil and Vicky landed a couple of hours later. They had quite a bad flight with horrrendous turbulence so much so that Vicky was sick and Phil had tummy troubles. So before even setting foot in the mountains we're starting to drop like flies.

Everyone is fine now though and we've just been for a really nice meal at the Third Eye restaurant. Phil had a baked cheesecake for pudding which in the fine tradition of Nepal was exactly that - cottage cheese in a cake. Very odd.

Will stop now as power cuts seem to be quite the thing and if I lose all this I'll not be best pleased. Agenda for tomorrow is shopping, getting the tickets to Lukla etc. sorted and trying to find out what on earth the time is......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb