Day 81: Chicago Friend in Japan!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 81: Chicago Friend in Japan!
Tuesday, June 2, 2009


6:30am: I woke up, took shower, got ready, studied for my human resource midterm, and ate breakfast. I wore a long black skirt and white blouse for my interview today. Jon called me but I was in such a hurry because I was studying for my midterm. Jon foolishly jokes at me about how much "fun" or "playing" I've been doing. I HATE it when someone says I am playing when I am studying SO HARD. I don't have time to joke around! I probably hurted his feelings, but he really irritated me! No ONE is allowed to tell me that I am having "too" much fun. I AM A BUSY PERSON! And I STUDY A LOT!

8:05am: I left for school.

9:15am: I made it to class. It was review day because we are having our midterms starting on Thursday, Monday, and Tuesday. It's really intense Japanese. I feel like I really learned a lot. Now I just have to REMEMBER what I learned!

10:45am: I left to study for my human resource class. I keep hoping that my midterm wouldn't be hard. Human resource is business, so I pretty much know it all, so I decided that I will go by gut feeling. I already learned all the theories anyway.

12:20pm: I realized that I need nail polish remover, so I went to 7-eleven to buy nail polish remover. I realized that I didn't know what a Japanese nail polish remover looked like...nor could I read the products! But I saw this product with three pictures. 1. a nail with color 2. the nail enters the bottle 3. the nail comes out without color. I figured that this was nail polish remover. I figured that if I was wrong, I will just have to go back and buy something else. I bought a bento of rice and meat.

12:30pm: I went to the cafeteria to get a glass of water because it's free! I'm real cheap.

12:32pm: I was in GL-Net, eating my food very fast. Then, I talked a little. I give up speaking Japanese only. I say a few Japanese words here and there, but I really rather listen than talk Japanese. I'm still working on my speaking skiills. But I am glad that I am improving. I become friends with a person named Hiro. Apparently when I cover my nose and mouth, I look like his favorite actress. I joked, "If I wear a mask, will you fall in love with me?" lol, he was so amazed that my eyes really looked like that actress.

1:20pm: I left to go to my human resource class. On my way to class, I pass by John Lee and two of his friends. I was luckily unnoticed, but I realized John and his partner wore suits. I want to go to history class to see that. I hope I finish my midterm and interview early.

1:30pm: The midterm was easy as hell! Everything on there was what I knew! I was tested on this 3 times before, so I rushed through it.

2:00pm: I turned in my midterm and my professor complimented my outfit. She really liked my outfit. I was shocked because she's usually mean and this time she was really nice to me. I felt VERY SPECIAL. I left campus to go to my interview.

2:34pm: Originally, Funyu-san scheduled me for 3:00pm and I asked for 3:45pm because my human resource class would've ended at 3:00pm.
John Lee & SuitJohn Lee & SuitJohn Lee & Suit

So, when I saw his attire at lunch, I just HAD to come to class and take a picture.
So I was SUPER early. Okamoto & Company front desk lady let me in. The two interviewers, Funyu-san and Hanato-san, were quite surprised that I was very early. And we began the interview.

3:10pm: The interview was over. It was for an English tutor position for the accounting firm's employees. I hope I got the job, but if I don't that's alright too. I want it to get the chance to talk to professionals in the accounting world in Japan AND it would be very beneficial for me to put that in my resume. I really want to get a good accounting internship when i return to America. That's all I think about when I think about my career.

3:30pm: I went to history class. Haha! I was lucky to take pictures and a video! History class was still boring, but I was amused by the suits. It was like business class back in Chicago. I want to wear my black suit too!!

4:45pm: Boring history class ended. I went to Shibuya to meet up with my friend, Danielle, her aunt, and her dad. Danielle went to the Philippines for the summer and it just so happen that she is staying over in Japan for a night! And we decide to meet up! Isn't that cool?!

5:40pm: I see Danielle and her family! We went to eat at a "Chinese" restaurant. It was so Japanized and the food was pretty good. Then, we went around Shibuya a little.

8:00pm: Danielle and her family had to go back to Narita to their hotel because the last train was around 8:30pm. Danielle really liked Japan, even though she was here for a few hours. I told her that was should go to Japan together next year or something. I am SO EXCITED!

9:30pm: I was home. I took a shower, watched tv with my host family, and played with Yuzuki. Yuzuki loves me and I love her a lot too. It really brightens my life when she loudly yells, "MI!" That's my name. Hiromi is too hard, so my name is MI. I want a kid just like her!!!!

10:30pm: I went to my room to study, update my blog, and text people. I am quite busy this week and next week for tests.

VIDEOS:
"Exciting" History Class: It's hilarious to see what my history class looks like everyday...just like this.
Shibuya Building TV's: No matter how many times I come here, I am STILL amazed about the built in TV on the building. HOW DOES IT WORK?!
Shibuya Crossing: I love Shibuya so much, I just have to record crossing the street over and over and over again.
Danielle, Her Dad and Aunt at Chinese Restaurant

Note: Times are approximate.
I want to write you a postcard/letter, please send me your address.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Hanato-sanHanato-san
Hanato-san

She interviewed me today for an English position for the accounting firm, Okamoto & Company.
Billboard Changed!Billboard Changed!
Billboard Changed!

NOOOOO!!! I liked the other billboard! It's still the same dog. He looks like Hachiko.
Hachiko StatueHachiko Statue
Hachiko Statue

Danielle and I I really don't like my outfit
Hachiko Statue 2Hachiko Statue 2
Hachiko Statue 2

Danielle, her aunt, and her father
Chinese RestaurantChinese Restaurant
Chinese Restaurant

Danielle and I I don't like my outfit!! I am NOT wearing this again! It sucks not having a mirror at my house.
Nail Polish RemoverNail Polish Remover
Nail Polish Remover

This doesn't look like nail polish remover to me!
Nail Polish RemoverNail Polish Remover
Nail Polish Remover

There's a sponge, so you just stick your finger in there and rub the polish off. haha! It really works quite well! I'm glad that the product had pictures. I couldn't read or know that this was nail polish remover!


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb