Day 82: I GOT THE JOB!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
June 3rd 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Japanese RestaurantJapanese RestaurantJapanese Restaurant

Candy, me, Ikuto, and Lars
Day 82: I GOT THE JOB!
Wednesday, June 3, 2009


6:30am: I woke up, exercised, got ready, and ate breakfast.

I forgot to say...but I do morning exercises for 15 minutes. It makes me feel better about myself, even though people always mention that my muscles are already toned enough. I just do it because it feels good. 100 crunches, now 15 push-ups, which I'm trying to increase the amount, splits, back exercise, and another stretch exercise. The exercises help me endure long stairs and dashing to my classes.

8:05am: I left my house.

9:15am: I was in the Japanese class, where we learned ーそう、ほうし、-てほうし. These are things that are easily learned by listening to people. Half the class wasn't in class.

11:00am: We reviewed yesterday's kanji, watched a video of how to invite people, and then the class practiced inviting people and then rejecting the invitation.

12:30pm: Candy, Lars, Ikuto, and I went to a Japanese restaurant. We all ordered the same meal.

1:30pm: Candy, Lars, and I went to Building 2 cafeteria and practiced with each other Japanese conversation. They really made me feel better about myself. Candy and Lars are already
Slight Hair ChangeSlight Hair ChangeSlight Hair Change

So many people are saying that my hair looks better a little longer, so my hair is now too short. Darn. But I think I like it.
really good. But I am still struggling on talking. I really want to practice the things I learned with a Japanese person too, so he/she can correct me. Mayo is sick, so that's why we haven't exchanged much language this week.

4:00pm: We decide to go home. In the train, I see a tv commercial about Okamoto & Company, an accounting firm that I interviewed with yesterday. Now I know that company has a reputation of some sort because they have their own train tv commercial! I hoped that I was selected. I was rejected many times in Chicago and I would be really sad if I got rejected again in Japan.

5:15pm: I was home at Zoshiki. I checked my e-mail and I find out that I was selected to work part-time as an English tutor at Okamoto & Company! I am so excited! I work 3 days a week for 5.5 hours! I will basically speak English one-on-one with an employee at Okamoto & Company and just talk about things. So, I get paid to learn more about the business world and the accounting career! Isn't that amazing?! I really felt good that the e-mail said, "we were impressed with your ability to communicate effectively and clearly." 😊 HAH! to all the people who make fun of my English! They said I was clear! I am so happy.

It didn't really matter if I got the job or not, I just wanted to have fun. This was the best part of the interview (my version):
Me: "Sorry about responding late in the e-mail. I wanted to time myself walking here yesterday, so I wouldn't get lost today."
Interviewer: "How long did it take you?"
Me: *smiles* "30 minutes"
Interviewer: "30 minutes?!"
Me: *laughs* "I was practicing how to get here with high heels and I took a wrong turn, so it was longer than expected!"
Interviewer: *laughing* "So how long did it take you today?"
Me: "15 minutes. I changed shoes."
Interviewer: *laughing* "You improved. You don't need to wear high heels."
Me: *laughing* "Thank goodness."

I didn't know if that was a bad move or not, but now that I got selected, it was probably a good move. 😊 That's why I am posting it now. haha!

6:00pm: I ate dinner...my favorite Manami's cooking...TACO RICE! Delicious. I told my host parents that
Class 2Class 2Class 2

These are the answers to the listening tape that I recorded in a video.
I have a part-time job and Manami was so bewildered. She was pretty amazed that being an English tutor would give you so much money. Yea, it sounds pretty great to me, too. Daiki says "Omedeto" to me. I felt quite special. I said, "yokatta."

8:00pm: I went to my room to study and write this blog. I hope I get to sleep early. Class starts at 10:00am tomorrow and the midterm is about listening and doing a 4 minute interview in Japanese. I am a bit scared because I am still not very polished in my Japanese.

VIDEOS:
Japanese Class: I fool around a lot, but I do learn a lot too. The class is very fun to me.
Japanese Class: We laugh a lot
Japanese Listening: I need to circle who is going to do the activity, the man or the woman. I didn't really understand...but I went for intonation. And I just so happen to get them all right. 😊
Japanese Class Kanji Part
Japanese Class Kanji Part (2)
Japanese Class: Practicing Conversation
Japanese Class: You hear me participating... you don't really hear Sensei

Note: Times are approximate
If you want a postcard/letter, please send me your address. I WILL find time to write to you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Sam being KindSam being Kind
Sam being Kind

This is how guys should treat ladies, carrying things for ladies. You know why? Cuz it makes us feel like princesses and we fall for these guys much faster than *beep*
My 2 Japanese TeachersMy 2 Japanese Teachers
My 2 Japanese Teachers

I have more. There's a lot of them that teach Intensive Japanese I. It helps us get used to more than 1 Japanese voice.


3rd June 2009

JgˆF
3rd June 2009

Re: Leen
Sorry Leen! The comments doesn't recognize Japanese characters. Thanks for the omedeto!
8th June 2009

Genki?
Hi Mi-ANNE, How are you? Its so nice to click and read to all of your pictures and stories. You could be a very good writer someday. Just Have fun in everything that you do couz time flies and you cant go back to those times anymore, only memories. I'm so happy and proud of you. Keep up the good work and learn more. ingat, mia
8th June 2009

Re: Mia
Thanks, Ate Mia! :) I will do my best in Japan! I'll see you in the Philippines! Take care! Mi-anne
4th July 2009

come back already, i miss you!! :( good luck on your exams!
11th July 2009

OMG, new haircut!
I love you new haircut! lovely! Now you do look like a Japanese to me^^
12th July 2009

I love your new hair style!

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb