I need batteries!


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
October 17th 2007
Published: October 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

... but all of the relevant stores were closed today. I will go back and add photos at a later date, and I´m sorry I´ll have so few photos of this wonderful place.

I took a bike ride today, and it was nice to get some exercise. From the top of the point, the ocean looks blue, and everything was beautiful and sunny today. One of the very wonderful things here is that no one builds up to the ocean, so that the beaches are wonderfully natural and private in a way ... they aren´t in someone´s back yard.

Some interesting things about uruguay:

They don´t believe in bread here. Its hard to find in the store, and there are no bread/panaderia shops, and the sandwich bread is weird! They make this bread that come out on a cookie sheet. Its like white bread in texture, but it has not taste. It looks really nice - perfect white bread with no crust... but yuck.

And this is also true of Argentina... these people don´t believe in fast food. And I don´t mean macdonlads, I mean in the sense you can´t get food without sitting down for an hour. Which is actually starting to be a huge pain because I eat out a lot, and therefore spend lots of time in cafes and such. Eh.

I went past a school today that was called Amnesia. I have no idea what this means in spanish, or what they think it means in uruguay.

Most people in this town don´t own cars... they own mo-peds. Which I find quite charming actually.

I´m used to small street dogs, but the ones here are quite large. I´m a little scared of them... but actually they don´t do anything... like most street dogs... very submissive and nice.

Most people spend a good part of the day here outside drinking mate. its this drink that is sort of like tea and sort of like coffee... its the same sort of principal and you get a lot of caffiene. Anyway, you need a lot of mate to make a cup actually, and you need hot water. So you see these people wondering around with their special mate cups and mate straws, and a thermos of hot water. Its a lot of stuff and they just carry it around all the time.

Well that´s about it. I´m off to montevideo tomorrow... wish me luck!!!

love Kelly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb