And that´s how we do the Chovito


Advertisement
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So.... yesterday, I´m tired, I´m hungary, and nothing seems to be going right. So I decide to sit down in a ¨cafeteria¨ and relax and have food served to me. I´m looking at the menu, and I decide to go with the Chovito. Now, I´ve actually seen this offered everywhere in S. America so far. And i¨m thinking, I´ve got to try it at some point. When I order, the waiter tells me I´ve made an excellent choice.

First... he brings m some sort of potato salad, on a bed of sliced deli ham, with some rolls. And I´m like, well, ok, not what I expected, but, well, its ok. And it is. I eat it all together like a sandwich, and I eat all of it because I´m thinking that is all I´m going to get. Then the guy comes back and asks me if I want fries. Well sure I say. Why not?

Then he comes back with this THING: Its a sunnyside up egg, on top of a bunch of cheese, on top of ham, on top of a steak (a really really really good steak), on top of potato wedges, or fries. WOW. I scrape off the cheese (DAMN), and oh my god. This is the most delicious thing I have ever had. I am aware that this it like my carb/cholesterol/fat intake for the year, but hell! And when I say good steak I mean it. WOW.

SO that was interesting. Montevideo has this sort of funny atmosphere, maybe mediterrianian, maybe this is what greece is like. I went for a three hour bike ride today along the coast. There are beautiful large winding paths.

I wish I could share this more with pictures. Something special: I bought a converter down here and I plugged it in last night and it BLEW THE FUSE. The whole thing popped, and I screamed, and the desk attendant at the hostel came running. No one was hurt, except maybe, my recharger. So I may never have pictures again. I bought normal batteries yesterday... and what do you know... they ran out TODAY. DAMN again.

Oh well, it seems as thought life is full of adventures down here. You know... on the first day in BsAs, I droppd my pants on the floor in the bathroom and the bleach on the floor took the color out? One of my bra straps broke, and I just tied it together. So far that is about it.... but I´m slowly feeling like I´ll come home with nothing but myself. Its the sign of a good adventure!

In further random thoughts, I was thinking today about how all places look as much a like as they do different. This isn´t so different than any other American city really. If things in America went down hill for a while, this is what America could look like in twenty years. The same, just a little bit more shabby (but without the seaside, meditterainian feel). I think I was thinking that all of these places would be so different that they would change me. But I don´t know if that is true. I think I have to be doing something a little more involved to see those sorts of things.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb