Do not pass go, do not collect $200


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Paysandú
October 21st 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

A horse is a horse...A horse is a horse...A horse is a horse...

the horses were everywhere. They were just out between the streets, by the beach, in the water... eaten the grass next to the people. They made everything warm and friendly. :)
So I was trying to go from Montevideo to Igauzu Falls (I´ll never learn how to spell it), and I couldn´t get very far because its like a holiday or something. So I´m stuck in this little po-dunk town for two nights!!! Eh. Its ok actually, I just have this huge fear of running out of time and not getting to see what I want to see. This might be especially true as I am now looking for volunteer opportunities. So far, I´ve emailed quite a few places, but I´ve only heard back from a primate sanctuary. I´ll think about it for a few days before I commit.

Anyway, this place is actually quite cute. It reminds me of any small town. I river runs through it, and it the main life line of commerse here I think as well. I went out to eat last night and had a terrific dinner! It was just arroz con pollo, chicken rice, but it had vegetables and spices, and so much flavor. The kids were quite adorable too. They ran all around the place while I ate. And I actually felt quite out of place in the small town joint full of
The parade that wasn´tThe parade that wasn´tThe parade that wasn´t

And everyone in town just sat down on main street and watched everyone else go by.. and I don´t think it ever came to anything. I sat there an hour. But it was a tremendously happy community spirit.
kids, eating by myself and reading a book. I thought that they would be annoying, but I enjoyed their presence.

I´m not doing much today. I´ll walk around and read and sit outside. I´ll try to take pictures, but again, my camera is not cooperating. I bought new batteries and right away it said - get new batteries!!! I think maybe it can only take alkaline batteries.

Well, all add a bit more. I walked around all day and it was absolutely gorgeous out. What a wonderful spring day. And everyone was out in town. There were kids playing and people playing beach volleyball down by the lake. It reminded me of forest lake when i was a small kid. I was wondering when the last time I had been ina place that made me feel like that. Maybe Brenda´s cabin or something. Not a smothered dirty place like the state fair, but a clean, summery safe place. I like the river too. I suppose growing up in MN I have a place in my heart for smaller bodies of water, as compared to the ocean.

Today, on the main strip people were sitting out, and I
Art decoArt decoArt deco

or whatever it was. But the town was full of these beautiful little bits of fading architechture. I wondered what the town looked like back in the day. I also wonder if the residents even appreciate this stuff anymore. Much of it looked unfixable.
thought Oh! There must be a parade. But I waited a long time. And nothing happened. So I think everyone is just outside, and it organized itself into people watching. There are twice as many motorbikes as cars here, and everyone is cramming more than one person on the bikes. Just as many women own them as well. They are all over the place a making quite a racket.

I tried to buy a pancho today - which is a hotdog here. I thought that would be a good simple lunch. It came wrapped in a piece of bacon!!! It was quite delicious, but the food here continues to surprize me every single day.

That´s all. Enjoy the weekend.

Love you all

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb