They don't have noise violations in Lima.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So after having some loud music and fun of my own last night at the discoteca, I come home to blasting music from our neighbor's house....I'm talking about some serious speaker system action going on. This occurred all night, into the morning, and throughout the entire day. It is my new mission to figure out what this music is coming from and why it happens so often and has to be so loud to be enjoyed. You really would be screwed in Madison if you pulled a stunt like that.

Anyway, yesterday the Dad of my family, Enrique, took us on a tour of Lima. It was sweet. We went down the coast, and I can now say that I know of 5 districts in Lima. I can go home now, right? He might be the cutest old man I have ever met. Last night before we went dancing he was talking up his salsa dancing skills. The girls and I want to take him to a chill salsa restaurant to learn some moves.

Last night we went to a discoteca called "Dulce Vita," something like the Good Life in Italian I've been told. I have to say I am pretty proud of being able to navegate the taxi driver there, keep track of my entertaining roomies, keep the Peruvian men at bay (man are they interested in us gringas-white ppl), get us home, and manage to get all our new keys to work....It takes 6 keys to get from the front door to my room (safety first). I can now navegate around my neighborhood and around the main shopping area (Miraflores).

I went running this morning along the coast. Most beautiful thing ever. There is a 15 mile trail along the coast of Lima. I was actually surprised to see so many other people running along there too. I heard today that there is a half marathon in Lima at the end of the month. I don't think that I'm ready for that yet.

In the afternoon, my new Canadian roommate and I went to the shopping area called Miraflores. I wanted to buy a pair of jeans, because it is much colder here than I had anticipated.....$16. It was really hard not to keep on shopping with these prices, but I held back and kept thinking about that budget I am supposed to be keeping....although I have already committed to take surfing lessons with Valorie.....sorry Dad. You only live once. And apparently all the cool Peruvians know how to surf.

I have already learned a lot of spanish and am loving Peru so far. Getting to know my roomies better has been fun too. We are very different and I feel like I have a lot more life experiences under my belt, but they'll get there (I'm the oldest one here).

As the Peruvians say...Cuidate mucho (exact translation - watch yourself a lot, or be safe/careful/well)

Meguita (my new made up name that Peruvians can pronounce, because Megan Schmitz is getting to be a big pain in the neck)




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

ParapenteParapente
Parapente

Paragliding....only $40. So very tempting...
MirafloresMiraflores
Miraflores

The mountains in the background are called Chorillos....little mountains that have water coming out of them...the explanation got a little lost in translation...
Parque del amor.Parque del amor.
Parque del amor.

Love Park. Couples everywhere arrangados (making out and such). Not my scene. But Valorie and I still had to re-inact it.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb