I'm finally here!!!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
August 8th 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So in a period of 12 hours I went from summer to winter. And the transition thus far as been as drastic as that. After no sleep and lots of bumpy flying I arrived in Lima. I walked in the airport to be welcomed by many airport workers...all wearing flu masks. It's flu season in Peru and I guess swine flu has really hit them hard down here. I definitely should have gotten my free flu shot at the UW when I had the chance. Oops. I did meet a friend on the plane named Victor who is a professor at U. of Miami and offered to rent out his amazing condo to me next semester if I was interested. I met my host family Cecilia and Enrique at the airport and am so glad that I chose to live with them. Cecilia is a mother to any student living with her. She tells students every time they leave the house to not carry much with them and many other valuable safety tips.

I got to their house and realized that I am definitely not in the US anymore. Let's just say I fell asleep wimpering and snuggling with my UW pillow. But today has definitely been a new day! I went running this morning with my new roommate Megan (she is Megan 1 and I am Megan 2) from Boston. She gave me a good tour of the area and I feel like I could probably get around if I had to. I have now met all of my roommates; Megan and Jenny from Worchester (they thought it was pretty cool that I knew where that was and that my bro was born there....yeah Andrew), Ida from Norway, Natalie from Wisconsin, and Valorie from Canada. We have a spanish speaking only rule in the house, which I decided I approve of.....but Megan and I did speak English on our run this morning. I'm definitely still in Zombi mode and cannot believe that I am here. I have to say that I am not that worried about being here anymore (especially after hearing Cecilia say about every 10 minutes "if you girls need anything, you let me know, I will get it for you").

Today Enrique and Cecilia are taking me on a tour of Lima and on Monday will take me to the school I will be going to (La Catolica). My new roomies are going to take me around Lima later too and help me get the shower supplies I had to ditch at the airport and a cell phone. I got excited when they said that they do in fact "go out" and want to take me out dancing soon. Mom and Dad, they don't ever go out without a boy with them (they came here with a big group from Boston), which makes it much safer. They also don't ever take a taxi by theirselves, and don't take a taxi without a boy past 10pm. I think that I also approve and will follow this rule.

I'm a little worried because my only Peruvian meal here thus far has been breakfast this morning, and my stomach already is starting to feel funny. Both the girls from Boston have been sick for the past month (since they got here). But they have no idea what Cipro is....I feel like I have a secret weapon....the all-curing Peruvian med. Although they told me if I ever get sick I can go right to the Pharmacy and pick up whatever drug I want....very interesting.

I'll take some pics of where I am living and put them up soon. I think that my new hangout will be the rooftop terrace. Enrique told me he wants to put a little kid pool up there. I'm siked!

Well, I hope you are all doing great! I miss you tons and really appreciate all the prayers and support! You guys rock!

Love you all!!!!

Megan 2




Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb