Camping in the desert


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Huacachina
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I left Pisco early yesterday morning. I say early, it was about 9am. After another collective taxi (although I wasn´t put in the boot this time) and a wait at the side of the road, I was on my way to Ica. I only wanted to go to Ica to stop at Huacacina (pron. Wakka-china), an oasis in the desert I had heard about.

Photos here:

Probably one of my favorite places I have ever visited.

I will try and upload some photo´s soon, because it is just amazing. Wall to wall blue sky, 100m sand dunes surrounding a tiny oasis, with about 100 inhabitants and 50 tourists. Just being at an oasis has been a huge novelty though - and all the people here have been great!

There was even a cafe with bannoffee pie - almost as good as A.Helen´s! I had met 5 really decent guys, 2 English 3 yanks, and the Americans hadn´t even heard of bannoffee so it was decided they needed an education!

They had all been on a tour the previous day which comprised of going around in this giant dune buggy thing (being driven), and dropped off at various points to sandboard down/lie flat on it and shuss down. Sooo much fun. It ended in a sunset, which would have been romantic but my compadres were burley Canadians (ey?), so a tad less so. Either way, this was probably one of my best organized trips of all time!

Afterwards we (canadians and I) went back, and they had rented a car so we drove to a supermarket and bought rum, and this has resulted in canadians being added to my list of peoples whom are good to drink with, but truly terrible drivers. They also introduced me to an Italian card game called Scopa - loads of fun. Will have to try and get a deck when I get back!

After this I walked about 200m into the desert, and found a nice hollow in the sand dunes to camp. This was great in some respects (mui barato - very cheap. Incidentally that is one of the first spanish phrases I learnt. The second was No hablo espangna - I dont speak spanish). However, all of my stuff is coated now in the fine grainy desert sand. Everything. I think I will still be finding it in my hair when I get home!
Was a great experience though, as has been the whole of this stop off. I think this will take some beating, but I´m sure Peru will rise to the challenge!

---------

Two things I have noted, firstly, the language barrier is enormous. I am having to pick up Spanglish quickly, because so few people speak english!

Secondly, there is a massive diversity in what the natives look like. There are the more stereotypical hispanic types, but then the more indigenous people, who, if I were to try and describe a native man, would probably suggest Chinese with the nose of a black man, all coloured umpa-lumpa orange. Not a great mix.


I´m currently in a hostel, which has a cafe bar where I have been a few times. The internet is free for guests of the hostal, but I figure as I have eaten there twice now, that basically makes me a guest. Not been thrown off yet!!

Hasta luego amigo´s


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1013.4kb