Lima to Pisco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
July 9th 2011
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My last entry was on friday morning, only a few hours after I arrived, so this one will give you a bit more of a taste of what I have been up to.

Also, I have started using Flikr for my photo s, so you can see a bit more as I{m going along. They upload at a nicer quality on there rather than on here, and this blog won t let me embed the images, so will just post the appropiate links as and when.
=============================================

After my last post, we found a Cathedral/Large Church covered in pigeons, and small children herding them around- so much fun.



Lima has attractive buildings. YES LIMA.



After the Swiss left, I decided to walk to the Explorers Club. This was further than I thought it was (last time I try and guesstimate a distance on a map with no scale), and instead of it being about 3 miles, it was about 6. Looooong walk.
I arrived and had a cup of tea, but decided not to join because the dues were $60, which in Peru is a lot of money! I decided not to walk back (it was 5 o clock and it starts getting dark at 6), but instead bought what was ostensibly a 3rd world oyster card and used the public transport. Worked surprisingly well!

The next day I decided to leave for Pisco, and after 2 hours of walking, I found a cheap bus to take me on the 5 hour journey. You may think why did I spend so lng walking? It was because the first place I went to it was $25 and the secnd place was $30! In the end I paid about $12 so was very happy. I also bought an edgy casio watch for $2. This made me equally happy, as with white cloud obscuring the sun, I had been struggling to tell the time.

I arrived and most of what my guidebook had told me had been destroyed in the earthquake 2 years before my guidebok was published. This was inconvinient to say the least, but I ended up in a hostel with some very interesting charachters. The room opposite me had 6 french girls in, and the room down the hall had a guy in who had cycled from Frankfurt to Bejing and then was cycling from the southern tip of S.America to Lima. Very interesting guy. I think this is one of my favourite aspects of travelling, meeting people that have just done that bit more than you, they have such interesting stories!

We all booked to go to the Ballesteas Islands and this morning the bus arrived and picked us up at 7am, and we boarded our seaworthy vessle at 8. There are several things I will remember from that boat trip; the millions of birds everywhere - penguins, pelicans, boobies (purile joke), sea lions, but more than anything else - the smell of the tonnes and tonnes of droppings. It quite literally seared the inside of my nose. Horrific. The photo s below should give you a bit of a taste, but not the smell, you lucky lucky people.






Got back and Nino, the german cyclist made pisco sours with pisco from Pisco. Authentic.

I have decided to stay another night, and I will leave early in the morning to Ica, to go surfing down the sand dunes. Jealous?? Loads of fun!

P.S here is a picture of me in the boot of a taxi.



P.P.S

I think I am the tallest person in this country. I m not even exaggerating! Brilliant


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb