UNESCO ya know


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
July 14th 2011
Published: July 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I my night bus from Ica to Arequipa. I got on this double decker monster, and went upstairs to the cheap seats assuming this was where I was sat). This was nice enough, but then the steward - the coach had a steward - ushered me downstairs. Wow. It was not quite aeroplane 1st class but it was a small step up from business class, from what I've seen when walking through to cattle class on the aeroplane. They brought me food, they brought me drinks, a pillow and a blanket, I had my ovn TV with english subtitles... an impessive bus. As the seats reclined to approx 150 degrees (naturally), I slept a solid 9 hours. On a coach. I am still not convinced I should have been down there, my ticket said 16 and I was sat in seat 2... but I was not complaining! I don't even think you should call this a coach, it was... what I imagine a mobile Hilton Hotel to be like, not the crappy ones, one of the 5* super luxury ones.

Moving on from this, I arrived and there was a couple with decathlon branded bags, (i.e. French) so I approached them to share a taxi into the centre. We did this, and went to the nearest hostel. Turns out Arequipa was really busy, and everywhere was booked out, and after some ringing around, one guy said he had a double room which had been reserved, but the people who had reserved it had said they would be there an hour ago, so we could have it and he'd stick another single bed in. WIN!

I wondered around Arequipa (a UNESCO World Heritage Site, hence the title) to a market, where they had an offel section. This was hard core offle, they had brain, they had stomoch, they had bovine snout - skinned apart from the nose left on, intestines and of course, something distinctly phallic. They also sold dessicated baby Llama. I think this is to ward of bad omens/vegitarians. They also had a fleecy top, which I think I will go and inquire about today.

Because this afternoon I go to the Colca Canyon! So it will be about 4 days until I get back to civilization. Interesting facts, the Colca Canyon is the second deepest in the world - twice the depth of the so called 'Grand' Canyon. Pah.

See you on the other side!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb