One week down....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


It´s hard for me to believe but one week has already passed, in many ways I feel like I have been here for so much longer. Cusco is a beautiful city, full of cobbleston streets and old Spanish flavor and the air is clear and very, very crisp (I did not bring enough warm clothes and have had to break down and purchase a few other items to keep me warm).

Yesterday I was able to visit a few of the churches in the city and see buildings and walls that date back to 9th and 10th century. It is amazing to see how the Inca´s were able to carve perfectly square stones and build walls that have lasted through three major earthquakes by using only small pieces of stone as thier carving tools.

Spanish school has been good but quite hard (there are SO many Irregular Verbs and exceptions it´s hard to keep them all straight). I feel like I have learned a lot but so much is crammed into every day and each week that I am struggling remember it all. Everyone tells me once I get out there and just start talking with people it will
The Hill I walk up every day for schoolThe Hill I walk up every day for schoolThe Hill I walk up every day for school

That cursed hill! The air is way to thin up here.
come back and I will learn quickly, I am just hoping that is true (in Cusco almost everyone in the stores speak English so even when I try to use my newly aquired Spanish skills they reply in English). My host family does not speak any English so right now there is much pointing and nodding and looking up words in the dictionary. Needless to say, conversation is really slow. I have meet a lot of great people at the school many of them from other countries so that has been fun to get to know other cultures as well.

Things I love so far -

-That cars alway have the right away and there are no real traffic laws so crossing the street requires much dodging and quick feet - so much fun!

-Jack´s Cafe where you can get an amazing roasted red pepper, cheese and pesto sandwich (3 halves) and french fries for 3 USD

-My new alpaka sweater and scarf - I am so much warmer now

-Finally figuring out how to use the phone card I bought (it´s all in Spanish) and being able to talk to my mom

-Having all the radio stations play American hip - hop. A few days ago I was trying so hard not to laugh when I was eating lunch with my elderly host family (who don´t speak any English) and we were listening to Beyonce and Slim Thug sing ¨Work Up On It¨

Not my favorite -

-Potatoes - EVERY SINGLE MEAL- uggh, I have forced down more potatoes this week then ever before. I didn´t like them before, now I hate them!!!

-The cold, cold weather, I miss the CA sun

I have one more week of class and then plan on Saturday heading with a group to the Manu Rainforest Preserve to look for birds and monkeys and exotic bugs. Will post again soon!




Advertisement



16th July 2006

habla espanol?
Praying for ya with the language thing. Jeff has watched spanish tv for 8 years trying to learn spanish and still can't speak it! I know you will get the hang of it soon. What a beautiful city Cusco is! Have fun at the Manu rainforest. Take your picture with an exotic bug! Love you, Jacque
16th July 2006

so fun~
Hola mi amiga!!! so glad you are having a blast!! love the new sweater and scarf set! that church is beautiful!! have fun in the amazon with your new amigos love, Brig
17th July 2006

Potatos? YUMMY!
I am so excited you are learning and seeing so much! Here are some potato eating tips: 1. use condiments to cover the taste or change the texture. 2. Plug your nose and swallow 3. mash up on your plate - add a little butter and sour cream - there you have it - MASHED POTATOS alla Jen Can't wait to hear more from you Mollie!
17th July 2006

great pictures!
17th July 2006

Amazing
Wow, it looks so great! I'm glad you are having fun. You'll get the hang of the language! Take lots of pics, and be safe! Love ya, Lori
17th July 2006

Great to hear from you
thanks so much for the pictures and information. I am glad that you are having a great time...good luck with the Spanish.
4th August 2006

So good to her from you! It is great to hear that you are enjoying yourself. I must admit, I am jealous that you are learning spanish before me! Shame on me! I am happy to say that at the moment I am in the Singapore airport heading home for my sisters wedding. I cannot contain my excitement! Many blessing to you sister! Love you! Naomi

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb