Parasites - A Lesson in Patience


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
July 23rd 2006
Published: July 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

A word of advise: If you are ever in Cusco, Peru and you are studying Spanish at the Almulta Shool of Spanish and if you decide to stay with a family and if that family offers you lettuce with tomatoes on it - DO NOT EAT IT. Even if the school has assured you that your family knows what you can and cannot eat and that it is safe to eat what they serve, even if you are trying hard to eat what they serve so that you don´t offend them, even if it just looks so good because it is not potatoes. Don´t do it, I am here to tell you, you will regret it.

This has been an odd and somwhat frustrating week for me. The week started off with the regular schedule, booking my trip to Manu, finding a decent hostel at a good price to stay in at the end of the week, school in the afternoon. Then Tuesday I ate lettuce. Wednesday morning I was out confirming my Friday departure for Manu and get the last few things done that I needed to for that trip when I suddenly got sick. The rest of the morning was spent laying in bed with multiple mad dashes for the bathroom. By early that afternoon the mother of my host family decided that I needed to go to the local clinic. In less then an hour they had given me an IV, drawn blood samples and infomed me that I had two different parasites and an infection (I was never really able to understand what kind of infection it was) and that I would be staying in the hospital for the night. The next three days were spent in a 5 story hospital in Cusco, Peru. It was really quite an interesting experience, all the nurses were so very kind and helpful, my room was cleaned obsessivly and my view overlooked one of the main Plaza´s in town. One odd thing, I have never seen so much marching as I have in this town, every single day a group of people collect in one of the Plaza´s around town and march, military style, every Sunday that I have been here they have a parade of people marching. Any I´m not talking a little ordeal, there is a marching band, people gathered to watch, etc. I haven´t been able to figure out quite what it´s for but they all do it, the school children, the teachers, business men, the police officers. It´s quite fasinating to watch.

Needless to say I missed my trip to Manu so the next few days are going to be spent relaxing in Cusco and trying to get my body ready for the Inca Trail. I was a little disappointed to miss the rainforest but what can one do? I don´t really have any pictures to share this time as the hospital room wasn´t all that interesting. Saturday is the departure date for the trail, please pray that my body will be ready to tackle it, I really don´t want to miss that.

Advertisement



23rd July 2006

That SUCKS!
That totally sucks Molly! I will be praying for a quick recovery so that you can enjoy the INCA TRAIL with your "fellow". I'm glad you got to a hospital though.....I wish you would have posted pictures of you on your death bed....that would have been quite the conversation! I can't wait to hear how the INCA TRAIL is and all that you will see! Praying for you in Cali! Miss you! Jen Ball
23rd July 2006

Oh boy
Molly, I am so sad for you! What a bummer. The last thing you want to do with people you don't know and in a foreign country is to be sick! I am so sorry. I will definitely be praying for you to heal and get better. I have been thinking about you a lot. Love you and miss you. Dani
24th July 2006

Molly, think of this altered journey as your saving grace. Perhaps God was sheltering you from something else that you would have encountered going to the rain forest. There's always a reason for things happening the way they do, despite our best efforts to stay our planned course. I can't imagine what you went through, especially being in a different country, but I'm glad to hear you're doing better. Just relax and recover your next few days. Looking forward to hearing about the rest of your journey! I keep updating Candace, she says hello as well. God bless the rest of your travels. Dina
24th July 2006

Oohh Noo!!!
I am so sorry you were sick! I bet you hated sitting in that hospital room for 3 days!!!! Jeryl says there are worse parasites in the rainforest! Rest up for the Trail, I am sure it will be amazing! Miss you, Lori
24th July 2006

Molly, so glad you are feeling better!! I will be praying for your trip...and that you are 100%. Question...How do you eat veggies??? have a great time...and please send pics!! love you!! Brig:)
24th July 2006

Not a fun part of the adventure!
Oh! Not fun at all! Hopefully, you are feeling better and on your way to the Inca trail now. " Lord, God give Molly strength in her weakness and added blessings with each new day of her journey!" Love you and am praying for you daily. Jacque
24th July 2006

The food has been great at Trumark
No one has gotten sick here...lots of pizza, Roll's food, etc. Are you sure that you don't want to come back? Your space is still open--just kidding. Hope you have a great time....how many people get to tell stories about spending time in the hospital while on vacation?
25th July 2006

Treveling woes
What a mess!! I'm glad you are OK. I can tell you about the marching. . . they're planning to attack the USA. Anyway, I am sure you are learning quite a few life lessons on patience, being flexible and just being thankful. Doesn't your cube seem like heaven??!! Well, maybe you aren't in that bad of shape. Have a great trip; you know we all miss you. Love, Susan
28th July 2006

You didn't think I could do this, did you?
One of my neighbors has me into your special world! Molly, I'm glad you have the opportunity to do this. Wish I had known earlier that you were doing this! I won't worry, honest! I love you, drop a card when you can - but I understand you might be home before it gets here - I'll ask my neighbor to check in on this site occasionally. Love, Grandmother Helen
4th August 2006

Dang you look skinny
I haven't stopped thinking about you. I think I would even take the parasite and a few days in the hospital if I could have this whole adventure! Soak it all in. I will email you something longer soon...promise. I love you!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb