Rio De Janeiro - A city of many colours


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Copacabana
December 2nd 2008
Published: December 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 Tuesday 2nd December

Apologies that I have not written sooner - it's been manic here already - I managed to put some photos up on facebook last night (facebook.com), so if you're reading this Mum please ask Laura to help set you up - then add me as a friend and you can see all my photos. Dad, you've already got an account right! It is also worth mentioning that a lot of my raw thoughts are being scribbled down at the spur of the moment in my travel journal - so I have the option of either copying what I have written in that, or just summarising everything on this blog! We will see. But I want to give you all the lowdown on what's happened so far and what we've been up to!

So, after a long flight on Sunday we arrived in Rio late Sunday night, tired and quite overwhelmed. Was feeling pretty dehydrated at the airport and after reclaiming our bags (thank god BA did not loose them - go BA - yey!), some dodgy guy was trying to sell his apartment to us outside the airport. Do I LOOK like I can afford to buy apartments in Rio? He then went onto claim I looked like Barbie (a compliment I must say), which got him even more excited about the prospect of us buying this so called apartment. Haha. So, we had to shake this guy off like a leech that just wouldnt let go. And I was pretty weary. We then realised we had to money to get a taxi - so we were trying to desperately communicate with someone as to WHERE an ATM was. Too much stress for 10.30pm. Finally found an ATM on the third floor, then struggled to understand what the ATM said - all in Portuguese. A few random pressing of buttons later we managed to get some much needed Real out. (Is that how you spell it? Not sure). And off we went. Paid 80Real for taxi to our hostel - a price we later found out was too expensive. Ripping off tourists must be easy once they step of a long flight - disorientated, scared and jet lagged - the senses are definately down at this point!

After arriving at the hostel we got to our room...it's on the fourth floor of a very funky hostel (think babboo sticks, surf boards stuck to the roof and a hot tub on the roof)!!!! Our room has no windows - something I was a little weary of at first,but I then found out that there is a nightclub right next door to the hostel - so maybe no windows is a wise idea. We do have air conditioning though - again wise choice - its bloody boiling!

Ok, so second day here we woke up and had a delicious brfeakfast of fruit and coffee on the bar roof and then headed to Cocapabana beach. It is only three short blocks from our hostel - how amazing is that! We proceeded to the beach and took some incredible photos before settling on the sand to take in the sights. Little did we know that we would then be hastled by about 10 beach vendors selling us everything from hats to scrimp on a stick! Hmmmm.... Kept having to say no thank you. We learnt a little portuguse the night before so knew a few basic phrases! I didn't notice people staring at me for being blonde anymore than when me, Dad and Laura went to Africa, but considering the notion of Rio being quite dangerous - I felt a little uneasy. We later went to explore the main streets - and I had to purchase a little shoulder bag. Wearing a backpack around Rio just makes one look like a target right?! I didn't want to spend money on a bag - I have a mountain of bags at home - but what can ya do?

Finally, we ended the day by going for a meal by the sea front. A romantic meal for two -well two best friends that is. It was lovely to chill out and have a giggle. But I did notice some middle aged men STARING at us continously throughout the meal and another single guy on his own. All over the age of 45. It's times like that I wish Dad were there to say something! Haha. But it was ok. If you shoot them a dirty look it normally does the trick.

We returned to the hostel later on in high sprits and proceed to the bar upstairs. I kept my alcohol sensible at the meal (please be proud - cause I am - my guard is up a lot more than I first thought n it's something I will keep up -Rio is not the sort of place to get wasted - I, more than anyone, know how dangerous this could be!!!) After getting to the bar, we had a cocktail (I forget its name - will ask Helen), but I was unaware how strong it was! Jesus Christ, I think it was pure tequila. Haha. However, was nice and I relaxed - and chatted to some the guys we met the night before. Everyone seems so friendly here- something about travellers coming together and being in the same boat, makes it such a nice and relaxed atmosphere to make friends.

I also want to point out that Rio itself is just what I expected. In terms of smell - it smells a little bit like a smoggy city with a dash of sea water thrown in. The air is thick from the car fumes, and I imagine because the smog becomes trapped between the high rise buildings. It was actually quite hard to breathe walking around the city. God knows how difficult it must be for asthmatics! I havent seen the favelas up close and dont plan on doing so either - have only seen them from a distance - but they do offer favela tours... Personally think they are morally wrong. Demoralising and unfair to poke fun at people less fortunate - they arent circus freaks, so why treat them that way.

I have seen helicopters circling the area though - something I knew I would see..and Ive seen a lot of police about generally.

Rio is beautiful though - I still can't believe I'm in South America!!

Apologies if this has been a little boring....just have so much to write...... I will make my next entry a little more entertaining!!

Btw, the weather is gorgeous, such a contrast from England. Averaging 28C and clear blue skys. But the sea is very cold - is that because it is the Atlantic? Not sure.

Anyway, please write me comments and I love you all.
Speak soon xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



4th December 2008

Keep them coming!
Hey girlies! I am so impressed with the way you are updating facebook and this blog Allie, it's like watching a regular TV show for entertainment, but is more exciting because it's real life and my sister! Keep the entries coming! I love the photos too! Descriptions of everything, even down to the smells is amazing! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
4th December 2008

What's the Weather like?
Hey! I just read your blog. I will be in Rio on Sunday and can't wait! What is the weather like? Is it raining like crazy? Any tips? Thanks and enjoy your trip! D
6th December 2008

thanks hun - just writing what i feel! miss you x x x

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb