Tupiza y Potosi


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Potosi
January 27th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The gangThe gangThe gang

Even after one day, we all miss our horses respectively!
Well Wednesday morning we hopped onto some horses and rode out into the Bolivian mountains just outside of Tupiza. This horseback trip was quite something. Having more confidence after riding in Coroico, they gave me their biggest and fastest horse (although he doesnt like to run) and the three of us set off with our guide. About an hour in our guide said "rapido?" and we agreed. Trot to canter I just about fell off, having only cantered once before in my life I was totally unprepared, fortunetaly I settled things and got my balance and it was all good from there. Oh yeah that is until we got to the town we were staying at and came running in on our horses when the guide stopped everyone suddently (probably because we were in a town?) and I wasn´t expecting it so my horse slammed on the breaks, I went right out of my stirrups and was stupid and dropped my reigns, so there is my horse trotting along with me just hanging of his neck. Thankfully our bond allowed me to get him to stop. Anyhow, our night was interesting, basically staying on a farm out in this valley we
BondBondBond

Tupac and I bonding.
had great fun trying to get chickens into our bedroom, watching the white sheep fight the black sheep, feeding the dog, laughing at the pigs, goats etc. Walked through the valley which was quite pleasant. Enjoyed a steak dinner and hit the sack amidst hundreds of flies in our room. Jord read out loud this awful book which I dont even want to mention. The second day of our trip we were basically cowboys, cantering almost the entire way back, through heards of sheep and goats with dogs chasing us everything was much better. They gave me a different horse because holding onto the saddle so much the day before gave Tupac (my first horse) a bit of a sore, so I had a smaller lazy one on the second day but was much easier to ride, less powerful and I felt like I could actually control it. We crossed the river in the valley and nearly washed away, but I closed my eyes and pretended the horse was a jet ski and we made it OK except for some wet legs and saddle bags.

Last night we got onto a bus for Potosi, which was an absolutely horrible
PotosiPotosiPotosi

The highest city in the world at over 4,000m.
bus ride straight from hell. I must have caught a cold racing my horse through the rain while singing Riders in the Storm in my head because I had a sore throat, little water, and cramped legs all night. We got to Potosi at 3:20 AM and got a cabbie to drop us off at a hostal that was full... so we walked around the town in the middle of the night finally finding a place and passing out. Today we explored the town a bit and signed up for a mine tour at 8am tommorow. Should be interesting. We get to play with explosives and lower ourselves down minning shafts for a few hours, should be good!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ready, Set...Ready, Set...
Ready, Set...

Approaching the door of diablo (or so they call it in Tupiza)


29th January 2006

hello young traveller
hi jason-gretings from peachland-really enjoying your blog-make sure you appreciate every moment(even those bad ones)life is so predictible when you are not travelling-stay safe-craig and dee-p.s.we have taken your previous advice and leave soon for 3 weeks in sayulita(i am praying for waves)
30th January 2006

It´s okay everything is on the table
Jase, Great to hear your being cruel to animals and having a good time. Vaya Bien mate!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb