Pre-- CHAPARE/IM FAMOUS???


Advertisement
Published: August 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

8/26

Miss Bolivias on tonight. Pretty cool IM sitting in front of the TV with my laptop waiting for the show to start. I missed Miss Universe and apparently from what others were saying Miss Mexico Won?! sweet GO MEXICO. So I guess in the past week I got myself famous some how down here? I would never classify myself as famous but my mom and sister here and some others keep saying Im famous. HAHA I havent done shit just another person here with their laptop. Guess when you talk to the right people and tell them your a dj from california the word just spreads like mad. I got myself headlining some event comming up and no ones even heard me they just know that Im a dj from california. Its funny because supposedly I am supposed to play tommorow but I have plans that Im going to chapare. There is supposed to be a pool and everything not only at chapare but also at this event Im supposed to dj and its even at someones house too bad Im missing it. Went out drinking some with Kevin and JOhn because I was supposed to dj at some event yesterday but when I got there the guy wasnt there so I didnt get to practice any and we actually made other plans. Apparently theres a flyer being passed out and Facebook messages being spammed saying I "CALI D" is headlining some party. Thats kind of cool but when I talked to some folks yesterday, they wanted me to wake up at 6 and meet them at 7am because they wanted to interview me and it was supposedly going to be televised. I thought long and hard about this and decided its pretty pointless to be on tv for no real reason at all and try and advertise myself thats not cool. I have decided thats its a whole system based around the idea of money. For example if there
was a Dj from bolivia in california we would recruit him and promote him like mad to see how much money we could make off him of course giving the dj some of the income. This may sound like a good idea for someone who wants to be famous or someone who wants some money but for me just sounds like the complete opposite of what I was trying to do by keeping my head down for like 5 months while Im here. Last thing I want is people to know who I am and what I look like especially in a 3rd world country. WEll I guess I am going to dj this event comming up and going to bring the story home to tell my dj friends who will appreciate the idea more than any of you who are reading. I contemplate this scenario alot and it really makes me wonder how shallow money makes others. Well last night Kevin, John, and I made our way to meet up with jose luis at the bar/club I was supposed to Dj at. NO one ended up being there at around 3pm so we started drinking. Drinking and Drinking and eating and eating until the night when we met up with Alex RISS at around 8pmish. Apparently Jose Luis is dating her? We chilled in her movie shop downtown and drank some and told stories. Kevin had asked ariselle (KENS SISTER) to go to a movie tonight and was fairly drunk so
this ideal seemed far out but ended up happening. Apparently there is something going on with KEVIN and Ariselle? and she might be pregnant. HAHA. WEll we continued telling stories and what not and John decided that he had had enough of everything and was off to his house via taxi. Hope he got home OK? I thought. Well I stayed a little bit longer. Before john left he had witnessed the amount of people talking to me in Ale's shop inviting me to appear on BOlivia TV. Apparently one of the DJ's I talked to ended up being Ale's Boyfriend? NOt good. I dont want any trouble
and have concluded that a large amount of the women I encounter here will mess me up somehow or someway so best idea I could possibly ever have is to keep my distance. We kept drinking more and then the idea of appearing on TV seemed ludacris. What a terrible Idea for a california kid. I have concluded now that I will only DJ for fun and wont dj for money as a motivation or a sole intention of trying to be famous considering its not that hard. What a terrible system. Well at around midnight alex decided that I should get some cd's for tommorow when I make my appearance and either way with JOse luis I decided that no musician ever passes up blank cd's. Where the hell are blank cd's anyway at midnight I wondered. We made our way to several internet cafe's and at one of them where Alex was purchasing cd's her boyfriend( i had no idea at the time) Came up and approached me once again telling me I was going to be there at 7am. NO man I got class I told him but it didnt phase him and he still counted on seeing me at 7am for my interview/television scenario scheme. Lets make it later I told him but he said he couldnt then TOld me I was going then when Back to his computer. Now Im definately not going and telling Jose Luis during the walk to Ale's house that 'Im just a man with a computer yo thats all you know" "what If I just lied my way" "I want to work my way to the top not start at the top!" he just laughed at all the different scenarios I came up with and reasons why not to go and then called me a pussy! ha We both laughed at this and I said well maybe I am and Im not going tommorow. ALex tried to convince me at her doorstep to go tommorow and I still refused. What a rediculous idea even with a headfull of booze. She told me to call her because she wanted to go with me, while I more of asked considering no way Im waking up that early to appear on tv by myself and I told her I would call If I decided to go. Jose luis and I caught a cab after chatting some in front of alex's door as her father came out haha which was pretty intense considering it was like 1amish. The cab rides went swift and with little words said the first song blaring out of the taxi when we both got in was Eddie Murphies "MY GIRL WANTS TO PARTY ALL THE TIME PARTY ALL THE TIME PARTYYYY
all the tIME!!" love that song. NO words were really said other than 'ROB YOU GOTTA GO!" "NAHHH I DONT' Jose left me 10 bolivianos and I owed 5 to get back home via same cab and I made my way home with little strife or trouble. Getting home everyone was already asleep as it was around 2am. NO way in hell Im waking up at 6am to be on TV and advertise myself in a 3rd world country. 3 day chapare journey tommorow cant wait...

How I wish
How I wish you were here
Were just 2 lost souls swimming in a fish bowl
Year after year
Running over the same old ground
what have we found
the same old fears
WISH you were here
-PINK FLOYD


Advertisement



31st August 2010

DJ
RJ: just let things happen. Everything you do is a growing experience. Maybe you going on TV is part of this experience. I think it can be lots of fun for you because you really enjoy DJing. This experience can only be what you let it be. So, go with the flow and you will always have control of letting it just go or stopping it when you find you have to cut it short because you are no longer enjoying it. Don't cut yourself short of an experience you might thoroughly enjoy doing. This might be a calling!
1st September 2010

NO nO NO
Im going to dj because I like djing and not going to appear on tv what a terrible idea that is.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb