CHAPARE the story--hope I dont get malaria


Advertisement
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Coca FarmCoca FarmCoca Farm

Not sure what Kevins doing? He didnt know I was taking this. Wonder what people are taking a picture of?
Cant believe I wore only wore shorts knowing that I was going to the jungle. Ended up with a vast amount of mosquito bites all on my legs and havent been taking my malaria medication due to some lucid dreaming and advice from experts telling me its not required in Cochabamba. Well Chapare wasnt in cochabamba but more of on the outskirts of Villa TUNARI and was the farthest in the jungle I have yet to journey through. I even recall my host mom telling me its really hot you shouldnt bring your jeans. Oh by the way Mrs. GREEN, kevin hasnt been messing around here and if you were reading my previous blog there is a statement about Kevin getting ariselle pregnant which was all his idea and he wanted me to make a Joke. Believe me I wouldnt do that if it wasnt for Kevin telling me I might get a boston cap out of it. So starting Friday John picked out his favorite documentary hes seen about the andes mountain and we saw like half. Have to admit probably one of my favorite documentaries as well. After class made my way home
for lunch and packed and then
Interesting BUGInteresting BUGInteresting BUG

Close up of A beautiful bug
called alex because she wanted to meet up before I went to chapare for 3 days. I grabbed my backpack full of clothes and made my way to the institute first. I actually ran into John who was getting out of a trufi on the street which is really awkward because like literally we ran into each other in the streets of Bolivia like what are the odds. I told him I was going to visit alex and he said hed be waiting for me to return because we
had to be by the bus at 33opm. Taking a taxi to alex shop it was about 15min past 1 and before she opened the doors to her work. Part of my visit was I wanted my Clock Work Orange DVD that she burned just for me and last Time I saw her but was too drunk to remember to grab it plus a visit is always nice. I actually conversed well with her and she offered me a cigarette and understanding that this was probably a moment that needed equality sharing and lite one up after her. SMoking we fell into deep conversation and I actually opened her up and
COCACOCACOCA

In the midst of the COCA
learned alot about
her. Wont get into it right now but apparently she used to have a girlfriend very cool haha. Her relationship with her didnt end so well for her family which is weird because I have some sympathy...shes probably at the moment one of my best friends that are from around here. I know I shouldnt trust a woman but getting to know her more and more she has become my manager in BOlivia and is the source of getting me the DJ gig thats comming up on friday. Well after spending more time talking to her than I had planned I got a taxi as soon as I had a chance and could tell that she was slightly disappointed that I was leaving so early. WEll getting back to the school there was already a herd of people waiting so those that were there were in process of getting out luggage on the top of the bus. Chatting a bit with those who were ready we all started getting in the bus and awaited our leave. Getting on the bus which had 25 seats there were 24 people so the place became fairly crowded. The only solution I had in mind was to put my ipod on and try and fall asleep. I didnt bring any snacks at all for the 5 hour bus ride and it the ride seemed to drag on and on. We first passed what was probably the outskirts of Cochabamba which was apparently very poor. After about an hour or so we stopped at a checkpoint and all had to get off for about ten minutes while someone searched the bus. We were walking towards the bathrooms and Kevin told me about some interesting drink that we later pursued and
purchased before getting back on the bus. "Coca COLLO" which had a huge coca leaf on it and I figured since I was already in the chapare region I had to purchase and so did KEvin. We decided against drinking them until tommorow because they were supposedly an energy enhancer. Didnt need energy late in the afternoon especially from the COCA leaf. The coca cola here even keeps me up for vast amounts of the night when I drink it too late. After the checkpoint it started to drizzle a little and I fell asleep with my forehead on the back of
ContrastContrastContrast

Contrast of size of individuals in group to the coca plant
the seat next to me listening to my ipod. I slept for what seemed like a while and for a few minutes frogot completely where I was. Waking up Sean and GINa laughed at my and looking in the reflection I even laughed at myself noticing how rediculous my hair appeared. We past more and more trees and plants that I observed until I no longer could see outside due to the darkness of the night. Our guide Evan told us that when we got to our hotel to drop off our luggage and make our way to the dinner
table because they were keeping the restaurant open just for us. Getting off of the bus John and I checked in grabbing a key to our room and made our way in the dark jungle towards what we thought was our room. Couldnt really see much but a large quantity of insects flying around the only lights visible and could hear the sounds of the jungle that drilled deep in my memory. Getting into the room and going into the bathroom I came across the largest cockroach I have ever seen in my life and really couldnt kill it on
COCA PLANTCOCA PLANTCOCA PLANT

UPCLOSE
the spot. "JOhn! You gotta see this!" I told him and when I came out of the bathroom he pointed at another one on the wall next to our beds. "UM...we gotta kill these after we eat and drink some beer" He told me and we both agreed. For dinner I ordered Spaghetti and meatballs and John only ordered a small egg sandwhich. Waiting and chatting and drinking my PAcena beer I ordered our food took forever to come. JOhn was getting restless wondering what the hell took so long for someone to make an egg sandwhich and apparently someone forgot to make it. WEll I ate away at my spaghetti and meatballs and felt very satisfied after drinking some. Saying our goodnights understanding from the guide that we had to be at breakfast at 730am we all departed back to our rooms. Getting back into our room I noticed the one fairly large COCKROACH in the bathroom still there but the other was gone. Where did the other one go? I pulled my bed out and shuffled around the sheets and tried to find something to help me sleep but no bugs made a presence. Before calling it a
KEVINKEVINKEVIN

with his ball cap
night we decided
that the cockroach had to die. I tried once on film and failed miserably and then JOhn failed and started screaming like a little girl. Brooke from next door came to our door and told us they were trying to sleep. HAHA sorry we had some problems but the rest of the night even falling asleep with the idea that there might be one cockroach roaming around in our room, I Slept great. Waking up at 730amish John woke up first and had taken a shower before I had arisen. We had some breakfast and chatting some and Jeff ordered some eggs. They didnt exactly bring the eggs to him more of brought the eggs to the buffet and by the time he found out they were all gone. IT was quite a comical act in my opinion but jeff who was left without eggs didnt think it was that funny. Well we were all prepared to go to the coca farm today which was the plan and were going to make it back for lunch and then go play with some Monkeys. The monkeys was the highlight of the trip for me and I couldnt wait.
COCA and ICOCA and ICOCA and I

Pic of me in a field of coca
Putting on shorts I wondered where we were going to and after a 20min bus ride or so we came across a small housing area and picked up some little scrawny bolivian and were going to take him to his farm. ARriving we all got off the bus and that was when I started getting bit by mosquitos. HOPE I DONT GET MALARIA! I keep thinking. Crossing some sort of wood bridge over a small creek which seemed to lead us into the jungle we all gathered around the Bolivian guide as he talked for a good 15minutes. I kept getting bitten by mosquitos and didnt want to stand still at all. HOw long is this man going to speak for I wondered and then we were off and I was blown away mentally by the amont of coca. Never seen such a big coca field in my entire life and now I know what one looks like if I ever come across one in the future. SO much coca and insects and what not that I was really getting hungry. After the coca farm area we made our way home for lunch but before then stopped at a police
John and the CocaleroJohn and the CocaleroJohn and the Cocalero

Our cocalero (Coca farmer) and John
area and were welcomed by military soldiers. Inside a small facility there there was demonstrations on how many make cocaine. There was also a wall of a various amounts of different drugs that were confiscated and various items that were also confiscated which were used to hide the drugs. There were shoes, TV's, airplanes, and pretty much where ever one could possibly place cocaine into was found. After we actually stopped at a airplane hanger that was dedicated to coca production. They sold leaves there and I purchased a small bag for about 2 bolivianos what a deal. I immediately started eating some when we got on the bus and sometime between the coca farm and the military/police station I had consumed the coca collo. Getting back to our hotel area I noticed for the first
time what a tropical area it was literally probably in the middle of the jungle. For lunch I had a sarachui or some sort of first cant recall what it was called but was delicious none the less and before long we were all off to the monkey park early then planned because many wanted to go swimming. Most went back to our hotel
Hotel PoolHotel PoolHotel Pool

Went swimming in there Pretty intense literally in the midst of the jungle
but Larry and I made our way down to the river next to our hotel Him with a beer in one hand. We hopped from rock to rock successfully and met some people swimming in the river and conversed with them the best we could in spanish. We continued along the bank of the river taking picture after picture and the Larry went down slipping on a rock and was completely soaked in the river haha. Even on the ride up to chapare we all were sweating so much it was rediculous and during lunch we were even sweating so much it was almost unbareable. Well arriving at the monkey park John was the only one who got off with the guide and the guide came back telling us it was closed. During this dissapearance of the guide while John was the only one outside I pointed at him through the window and told the others "hey Look at the monkey!" the others laughed and John actually looked behind him when I pointed which was kind of funny. Well considering the bad new and no longer understanding what to do we made our way down town and talked to some
Rock SpiderRock SpiderRock Spider

Some sort of spider
hotel guide who told us there was a pretty awesome botanical garden very close by and we all but one agreed to go check it out. It cost us around 15 bolivianos to enter the garden and doing so I really wished I brought my camera but in my mind I thought that I was going to be playing with monkeys so really didnt want to loose my camera. The botanical garden was really
amazing in my opinion as I saw an animal I never seen before kind of looked like an ant eater dog and also touched a crocodile on the leg and it hissed at me. After for dinner we were going to all be going down town and I was really interested in eating the wild bore. WE actually went to the hotel first and at 630pm were going to eat dinner downtown. ARriving downtown at the restaurant it was originally Kevin, John, and I who were at one table decided to join tables with the others. Brenedatte conversed with me mildy about my life by asking me "whats your story?"
NO body ever asked me that before that way. Was really nice shared a vast amount
Interesting InsectInteresting InsectInteresting Insect

Similar to a grass hopper?
of experiences with her and we decided to order the Kochi (small rodent), Wild boar, and some deer. The Kochi was so tasteful and the meat literally fell off the bone. I also consumed some sort of juice drink called Camu camu. Very delicious and very satisfied Kevin and I left and walked across the street to purchase some Liquid. After some confusion we purchased about 24beers in a box and decided to grab some waters as well. Party time! Getting back to the hotel after eating a vast amount of meat and such I drank about 5 beers by the pool with the others as we conversed about life purposes and challenging esteban the Friar about religion we made our way to sleep with many beers left over. Pretty productive day I thought and didnt even bother searching for bugs rather just fell into a deep sleep. Waking up it was our last day in Chapare. Sunday BLoody sunday. We had to be out of our hotel at 830am today and were going to some national park in chapare. AFter breakfast which consisted of fruit and what not with some coffee we were all packed up and ready to go. WE had about a 20min drive to this park and when We got there I continued chewing coca. We checked in signed some book at the entrance and divided up into two groups. Crazy jungle I kept thinking and cant possibly image what it must have been like to fight in vietnam. Deep into the jungle we plunged and came across wild vegetation I had never experienced before. I took a good 300pics of this trip so stay tuned. EVan the guide noticed me chewing coca and asked if I ever chewed Lahia before. I responded that I hadnt and he pulled out what looked like a great big piece of charcoal and gave me a piece. I broke it and gave kevin some. Apparently your supposed to wet the coca with your saliva and then place a small amount of lahia in the middle and was off. Cool the coca like changed flavored and made like the right side of my face slightly numb. We ended up hiking through the vast vegetation with a guide witnessing rivers, bat caves, more coca farms, and also came across some interesting bird taht was blind and lived in a cave. We also crossed some sort of river in a Small carraige that was supported by two steel cables similar to a cable
car but less safe. Pretty exhilirating sort of like a slow roller coaster. After our 4 hour adventurous hike we made our way to the trout farm for lunch but it was already around 1pm and we were all fairly hungry. I sat in the back of the bus and everyone knowing that the trout farm was more than 2 hours away started feasting away at snacks everything from waffers, to pringles. Getting to the trout farm at around 4pm it took literally a good hour and a half before we saw our drinks and maybe 20min after that before we saw our fish. I ordered the fried fish instead
of the 2 grilled ones that came with the head and all and I really hadnt planned on having to pick all the bones out. Comming to think of it Im pretty sure I consumed a large amount of fish bones and really started worrying on the bus if the bones were going to cause problems with my insides. I fell asleep and woke up still on the bus in chapare with rain comming down really hard. My ipod was dying and I wondered how much longer it was till we got back in cochabamba. Seemed like an endless journey and around 9pm 3 hours later than planned we arrived back at the school. We all said our goodbyes and Made our ways home and I took a shower and went straight to bed.


Lets dance in style
lets dance for a while
Heaven can wait were only watching the stars
Hoping for the best but expecting the worse
Are they going to drop the bomb or not?
Let us die Young or let us live for ever
we dont have the power but we never say never
Sitting in a sand pit
Life is a short trip
the musics for the sad man..

Forever young I want to be forever young
Do you really want to live forever and ever and ever...

So we live a life like a video
where the sun is always out and you never get old
and the champagne's always cold
and the musics always good
and the pretty girls just happen to stop by in the hood
and they hop that pretty ass up on the hood of that pretty ass car
without a wrinkle in today because today theres no tommorow
Just a picture perfect day that lasts a whole life time
and it never ends cuz all we have to do is hit rewind

So lets just stay in the moment smoke some ---- Drink some wine
Reminisce talk some shit forever young is in your mind
Leave a mark that cant erase neither space nor time
So when the director yells cut ill be find Im forever young

Forever young....

Fear not when, Fear not why, Fear not much while were alive
Life is for living not living up tight, See ya somewhere up in the sky
Fear not die, Ill be alive for a million years , Bye bye
So not for legends, Im forever young my name shall survive

Through the darkest blocks, over kitchen stoves, over pyrex pots
My name shall be passed down to generations
while debating up in barber shops, young slung, hung here
Shorty that n----, from here with a little ambition just what you can become here

And as the father passed his story down to his sons ears
Younger kid, Younger ever year, yeah
So if you love me baby this is how you let me know
Dont ever let me go thats how you let me know, baby

FOREVER YOUNG
-JAYZ remix


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 32


Advertisement

A scene from chapareA scene from chapare
A scene from chapare

Kevin with a mouth full of COCA, Ken with his shirt that says "Las ojas de coca no es droga", and Esteban the friar to the left
interesting Plantinteresting Plant
interesting Plant

REd fur plant


31st August 2010

Not a grandmother!! Call me Laura
Practical jokes are fun... but come with a price... give KG ur parents address and there will be hat waiting for you at home.... AFTER i get some of ur pics of KG. Be Well and take care of yourself... Laura
1st September 2010

hey I uploading some more pics
just uploaded some pics of Chapare! Kevins in some. I like his boston hat thats all black with the black B. Ill give you all of my pics of kevin when I get a chance or maybe Ill give them to him. Dont know how big my head is though its fairly bigger than kevins When I find out Ill let you know thanks.
1st September 2010
John and the Cocalero

Aw I like his new hat!
4th September 2010

SARAH!
hmm...have u been reading? nice to hear from you...wonder what the hell is up with this place still and hope I make it out

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb