I love rain/ 1st doctor visit


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have come to be fondly in LOVE with the rain and everything about her/it. Everything about it that used to be an inconvenience has long been forgotten and it has more of a cold comfort for my current state. Today has been by far the coldest day of Bolivia I have experienced and considering I woke up thinking that today was my last everything has come to be relaxing in a sort of ill way. Some say that the light is found in the darkest hour. The rain and wind howl and moan outside my window as the infinite patterns immerse to a language I was oblivious to before. If one listens closely its music. well..woke up and felt like my tongue was cracked, literally thats how dehydrated I must have been. I do recall arising at like 4am no one else in the house awake and shitting my brains out more than like 4 times till like 10am. I didnt vomit today or this morning so maybe thats a good sign. I originally was supposed to wake up at like 730am to get ready for the city tour that I already payed 100 bolivianos for with my school by at that time was nearly impossible and I guess I requested for a doctor to Mirza? At like 10ish I woke up dizzy and Mirza greeted me as soon as she heard me arise from my room and said she was taking me to the doctor. "No!, no no, esta bein" I replied confidently convincing myself that the Bolivian hospital was probably last place I wanted to be aside from jail. I think I can ride this one out I thought to myself and rushed to the bathroom again. It was very cloudy outside and looking out from the bathroom window I could see that everything was wet. Great...looks like the world is sharing my sickness I thought.
Well Looking dry dreadful lips and rubbing off the dead skin I made my way downstairs still fairly lightheading hoping to find some bread and water Knowing that would help. Daniellea was awake before me? no way. We greeted each other and I started eating some bread I found daniellea looked kind of puzzled at my action. after taking no more than one bite out of my piece of bread Mirza came in and took it away from me. NO NO NO she told me your going to the doctor. I immediately started pouring myself some water thinking I was going to pass out and Mirza started telling me NO again. Frustrated when she took my water from me i shouted "YO COME! O YO MUERTO!" (I EAT OR I DIE!) they actually laughed at this but I didnt think this was a comical act. they wouldnt even let me chew a piece of gum. I said I was going to take a hot shower then we could go. I was finally convinced that this was the end considering I had little energy left. NO hot water upstairs what a suprise, I went downstairs and found the water down there lukewarm. Well guess no shower for me. Pretty sure as soon as the doctor was going to take my blood sample I was going to pass out considering I had very little fluids left. Well Mirza Listo I said which means ready in spanish. Bleh...half way to the main street wasnt feeling so good didnt want to throw up or anything just wanted to lie on the floor. Shortly after we took a truffi that picked up some others and I was actually crammed in the middle....I think I must have pissed off some god somewhere this cant be happening. Well about 15min later we were down town which was actually familiar and the coldness of the air actually was quite relieving. Maybe Im ok...I thought. We were only at the bank and Mirza told me to withdrawl like 700 bolivianos which I did with little argument. Dodging traffic and expending a vast amount of energy I had to lean over like someone hit me in the stomache to catch my breathe. Mirza kept saying Mejor??? which is are you better in spanish? no no no...muy mal I kept replying. She explained to me the hospital was 4 blocks away No way I was walking I told her so we caught the nearest cab. Sitting down in the cab felt better but with extreme static and horrible Bolvian tunes felt uneasy. Hope I dont loose it before getting to the hospital. Well after arriving I had no idea what to do so took a seat and closed my eyes. It wasnt really a hospital but more of a small mediocre farmacy which ended up being like a half hospital small pharmacy. Great...how long before
someone helps me. I looked around and noticed a woman Probalby around my age with what must have been her parents. She kept looking at me?? Whats up I thought like Do I look really bad...Is it clear Im not from around here...or Do i just have that effect on women haha. Well I handed my passport to the doctor and actually within a short amount of time the doctor took me back. note that so far during my day hadnt spoke one word of english. Uh oh this is where the horrors start...i thought. Well they took my heartrate and everything seemed swell. A actually cute looking nurse came to me who asked me where I was from and what not..and ended up telling me I was going to be here for more than 2-3hours. Dam...does anyone here speak english around I kept thinking. WEll they took me to a back room and hooked me up to an IV. Watching the Iv drip in solitude one can learn a vast amount about themself. Choices I had made gave me a vast amount of time to Reflect. Another older nurse came in saying a bunch of words I had no idea about left me wondering. She put some other small fluid shot into me arm
and blood started flowing from the tube in my right hand. Uh oh...not sure thats supposed to happen and she fiddled with it and injected the foreign fluid in my hand. My whole arm was like freezing it felt like but my stomache seemed to settle. Putting the large .9 container of what the doctor said was salt water back into place they left me alone again. who knows how long I was there when I noticed that the small baggie of fluid was dimishing. Uh oh with no around what do I DO let the remaining fluid drip into my arm? A thought occured to me that what if an airbubble went into my vein? would it cause problems for my interior? would this possibly kill me? Well the doctor arrived with another small baggie different than the other 2 and poured it into my IV then hooked me up to another .9 container of salt and water. Great...more...Well when It was done I felt really chilled and when first got up felt really dizzy worse than when I woke up. The doctor said something and I decided to make my way to the lobby. All f'd up more than before I ran into the Hot nurse sitting there I pointed and she motioned me to sit on the nearest bed. Dam..i Almsot escaped I thought haha. Sitting there behind the curtain there we drugs and medicins Id never seen before and some other disturbing sights. Waiting for like 20 min Behind the
curtain the pretty nurse came to me and told me what I could and couldnt eat. I have no idea what she said and she said she was going to get my mom to explain everything to me. WEll Still waiting another 20min it seemed like I heard Mirza and decided to go to her. I found her and my original doctor calculating my bill. I had like 3 different perscriptions of medications I had to get and everthing cost me about 300bolvianos or so. NOt bad I thought but my perscriptions next door cost me another 100. I actually felt alot better and felt I could eat a great deal. Going home by taxi Daniellea greeted us in the house and was preparing me some noodles, carrots, and some chicken. YES! im so hungry I HAVE TO EAT!!! I ate everything and then went to the bathroom like 3 times then passed out for like 3 hours. Woke up with Mirza making me more food. NOt really that hungry I actually started having more pains and dreadful turns in my stomache. Barely with my head up at the table and eating a little chicken I was more interested in watching the movie with the Rock and johnny knoxville "walking tall" in spanish.
Not able to finish my dinner a made my way to the living room and laid horizontally watching remainder of the movie and then anotehr movie EL REY came on. Movie was like spanish scareface or something and kept me interested until the end. I would actually time my stomache restroom runs with the comercials of the show which was somewhat convenient. Thats when the rain started. The rain has become my new love and having a close relationship to it I have come to realize that we are both cold which makes us warm together.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb