Update and Perito Moreno pics


Advertisement
Published: February 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Oh, boy…late again. Sorry for the slow updates folks, but I do have a couple of excuses. First, Villa la Angostura is so beautiful it´s hard to drag myself inside to sit in front of the computer. Our hostería sits right on the edge of lake Nahual Huapi which is surrounded by snow capped mountains. In fact, we basically haven´t been able to drag ourselves away from the hostería. All the excursions I had planned to San Martin de los Andes and other scenic towns in the area have basically been abandoned because it´s just too beautiful here. A bit like a high lake in the Rockies in Colorado, and the town of Villa la Angostura is pretty much a resort/ski town, but in a good kind of way. Or maybe kitsch just seems better in Spanish….

My second excuse is that after subindo y descendo what seems like have the hills in Patagonia, plus the cliffs of Iguaçu, my one knee decided it had had enough. So, I got to visit the medico de ortopedia here in Villa today and had my knee (tendonitis) shot full of cortisone, all for about U$35. Don and I are off to visit
Perito Moreno GlacierPerito Moreno GlacierPerito Moreno Glacier

I went nuts photographing this. LOTS of pics. Was cloudy, which was supposed to be good to bring out blue color. And, YES it was that color!
the termas in Chile tomorrow in Puchuhuye for the day (about an hour and a half drive- the border is actually only about 45km), so I expect to be subindo y descendo as usual by Wednesday.

I heard you guys in the NE got a little snow…sorry I missed it. It´s actually very hot for this area (about 90 F today), and all the locals are melting, but in typical high desert fashion it gets cool quickly once the sun goes down. Just perfect weather.

I have really gone over the top with the pictures, at last count I think I have something like a 1000 which I have downloaded to disk. By the way, that´s worked very well- I brought my card reader for my memory card for my camera, and I just hit an internet café that has a CD-R, plug in my reader to USB and download the pics to disk. The cafes are everywhere, and this way I KNOW my pics are okay even before I get home, in fact I have most of them on 2 separate discs.

I just LOVE the comments people are leaving! Thanks so much everyone, and if I get a chance I´ll try and respond individually, but don´t hold your breath…. On the other hand, sometimes I don´t know what people want to hear about- food, people, sights, places we´re staying etc, so if you have any questions post them and I´ll try and answer them.

In general, the Argentine people have been as nice as possible, they go out of their way to be friendly, and are always supportive in my stumbling attempts to speak Castellano. A good example is that yesterday I had a massage, and the masseuse tried to help with my knee. She knew I was going to the doctor this afternoon, and called me this evening to find out how I had made out. Just typical of how far people go out of their way.

As I said before, our main problem is sensory overload- just too many mind blowingly beautiful spots. I´m going to post a bunch more pics, hopefully tomorrow- they don´t fit on the pages, look in the “pictures” section.

Love to all.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



14th February 2006

Thanks for sharing! Amazing pictures.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb