Background: The archipelago of "The Friendly Islands" was united into a Polynesian kingdom in 1845. It became a constitutional monarchy in 1875 and a British protectorate in 1900. Tonga acquired its independence in 1970 and became a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. It remains the only monarchy in the Pacific.

Blogs from Tonga

Latest Blog Posts from Tonga

Tot: 0.584s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 144; dbt: 0.2655s; 144; m:apollo w:www (; sld: 3; ; mem: 6.7mb