Melbourne and beyond


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
January 27th 2013
Published: January 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well as its my last full day in Melbourne I figured I should write a blog for my time in Melbourne.

I flew here from Sydney with Jetstar. An affiliate of Qantas. The flight was delayed but only by 15 mins and there were turbulents for the whole flight.

I arrived at Melbourne Tullamarine airport at 5pm and got to the hostel, The Nunnery, by Carlton Park at around 6pm. The hostel is in a converted convent and retains many of its original features. The tram runs directly in front of the hostel and as I said there is the park opposite and the Melbourne museum and IMAX.

The weather down here is a lot cooler 20-25 degrees with a breeze. Different to the 35-40 degrees further north.

I had my first potato of the whole trip last night. From a place called spud bar. It was amazing! Only because I'v missed potatoes!

Today I went to the queen Victoria market and Bourne street.

I'm now sat in the TV room where we are watching the men's tennis final. I have I check out at 09.30 tomorrow and have a shuttle pick up to the airport at 20:00. My flight is not until 01:30 on tuesday morning but the last shuttle to the airport is at 20:00 I'm ready to leave. Overall Australia has not been the place for me.

I feel it's overrated, very expensive and lacks character or charm. Something I've missed since my time in SE Asia. The cities here have little to offer and most of the sights/attractions are on the outskirts. I'm glad I've been, I've officially travelled to the other side of the world and can say I've been but I doubt I would return.

I'm excited for the new beginnings that I'm hoping KL will brings an a new chapter in my life.

I left the UK back in August; and the trip has brought it's highs and lows. It's strengthened my character, I've built great relationships and lasting friendships and I've found a little bit of 'love' I think I've smiled just about every day and I've memories to last a lifetime. My trip is by no means finished...

I've great plans of new places I still want to see, South America, Myanmar and India being a few to mention.

I guess rather than settling in oz for a while i'll be attempting to build a future In KL.

I found inner happiness look forward to more experiences. Next stop KL

LOVE TO ALL XXX

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb