Still Here


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Fortitude Valley
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey, how are you all?

You'll be devastated to hear I'm sure that I’ma ctually very poorly! Yes, that’s right I’v contracted a very rare and serious disease called a cold! Now I know that this will frighten you all but please, try not to panic! I’ve made it through the first week with a bright red nose and now even though I’ve been brave, it has been hard! However, I feel like I’m over the worse now and it looks like I’ll pull through, thank the lord!!!

Anyway, am still in Brisbane as didn’t want to travel when not 100%. Here, I have people to cheer me up when I’m feeling a bit sorry for myself but on my travels I wont so probably best to wait a bit. Plus, the flight prices were about $60.00 more if I’d flown to Cairns this weekend.

So, what have I been up to. Well not that much really, all things considered. I went out on the Saturday, against my better judgement, and whilst finishing off a bottle of red wine, I had contemplated going home to bed, but then I ended up staying out till 4 anyway, which I
Me On The River CatMe On The River CatMe On The River Cat

Look at that slap head!
think was my downfall really! Needless to say I had a really good night but not quite sure it was worth feeling as poo as I have done!

Tuesday night, my Florence Nightingale Ketrina invited me around to stay at there’s to recooperate a little which was nice amd then Tuesday me and Ketrina went to Vera’s hosue from work, for Thai food and gossip! It was a really good night but I was in bed by 11pm, I just can’t cut it at the mo! She has this beautiful Staffy dog called Marchuk, which is apparently Croatian for Tom cat! If only she knew! I now want some puppy dogs as soon as I get to England, although may leave it a while! Also, I’ll sneak it in now so it doesn’t kill any of my older relatives when it finally happens, I’m getting a tatooo!! (I visibly cringed there at the verbal onslaught I imagined being directed at the screen as my parents read this!). Its going to be on my ankle I think, and of a naked lady!! Only joking of a penis! No, actually I’ve made my mind up knhow, I’m going to go to a Maori place in New Zealand and have a consultation and see what they come up with. It’ll have to be small as I’m a wimp and don’t want to embarrass myself by either crying or passing out! But I’m tough, grrrrr!!

Hmm Thursday night I went to bed at 9pm, Friday night I went to bed at 10pm, ooh and that reminds me, I want to share my epiphany with you! Last night, whilst trying to read my pirate book and dually listening to the German girl in my room tell me about her dentist back home, I finally got it! I finally understood the whole reason why people come traveling! Where else would I be able to eat a German girls Haribo sweets whilst listening to her doubts and joys about her family dentist back home? No where! And probably I wouldn’t have had that experience either had the girls been with me! I felt like I’d climbed a great hill and finally got to the top! I’m sure the adventure isn’t over yet, but what ever happens, they’ll always be some foreigner happy to sit and chat about stuff and I guess I’ve realized that the whole point, apart from seeing stuff as well! Because before I’d never really got this meeting people melarky,and now I do! Hurrah!!!

Right, times about to run out! Going to gym in a mo as I’m HUGE and then cooking tea for Ray and Ketrin and then watching the England match, btu I’m off alcohol at the mo so wont be drinking!! Well, we’ll see anyway!!

Love you all, hope you’re well!

Take care


Julie

xxxx


Advertisement



1st July 2006

Apologies - major grovel
There I am e-mailing and saying get blog updated - then I go to blog and you've done it already. I am mortified and shall make up for it when you come and visit. Well done in spades. Love Pat
2nd July 2006

back in London
Hello you, glad you've managed to meet people who want to talk to you about weird and wanderful things whilst indulging in sweets.Back here it's actually been really hot i was sunbathing in the garden yesterday and got tan lines. Weird, hope it lasts until i go to Cyprus next week. Anyhow keep us posted and if i meet my husband when i go back you'll just have to get yourself back with a dress and hat xxx

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb