Buggerations


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
July 9th 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Firstly, I’d like you to all notice the location, CAIRNS, wooo hoo!
Secondly, I’d like you all to appreciate that since I left Brisbane, everything has turned to shit!

I’ll begin with the good part! This week has been loads of fun! I think did I last do an entry on Saturday? Went to the gym with Ketrina on the Saturday evening but we got kicked out because it closed, at 6pm, on a Saturday, was not impressed!! I then cooked a not too successful tea for Ketrina and Ray, which I felt bad about as they’re always cooking me tasty stuff. We then went to watch what was sadly the last England match, but I was knackered and so wen home to bed, and slept, again!

Sunday, I was up bright and breezy. I went onto town and bought a Lonely Planet of New Zealand and some postcards, and then caught the river cat, which is the river ferry thing, to New Farm [ark. Well, what I thought was New Farm park. I actually got off at the wrong stop and so just walked along a bit of grass. Hoe embarrassing!

Monday, I went to work think
Ketrina and RayKetrina and RayKetrina and Ray

With more stolen balloons!
that was it, oh no I went for a run! Yes, can you Adam and Eve it! I ran for half an hour, up hills and everything, in a bid to fight the flab! Was very impressed with myself!! Tuesday, I went for another run, which hurt more this time and then me and Liz went out for drinks and tea which was very nice! Wednesday, I stayed at Ketrina and Ray’s house and watched the decider for the State of Origin match, Queensland won, yey!!! Was so pleased and it was a really close matchh, very exciting.

Thursday, hmmm what did I do, oh Thursday, I went out for drinks and nibbles with work as a goodbye thing for me and a congratulations thing for Christina as she her acting manager status had been changed to proper manager status! We went to a place called Chalk Hotel which was lovely, and had pizza, nachos and chips, washed down with loads of fizzy wine. Felt a bit shite the next day if I’m honest!! That day was my last day at work, which was really sad! They bought me a watch though, as everyone knew I’d started running and wanted a stop watch to time myself! How thoughtful is that? I cried, obviously and I was so touched. I’m going to miss everyone loads. I’ve been there for seven weeks I worked out, I though it was about 5! I got a lovely card as well, so if I’m feeling a bit lonely, I can read that along with the O2 one and it always cheers me up, and helps me remember funny things that have happened!

Friday night, I stayed at Ketrina’s house and we had lots of wine and she cooked the tastiest meal ever! WE stayed up chatting for ages and felt really knackered the next day. I had planned to go for a run, but ended up watching DVD’s instead! I then went home and packed, did my washing etc and prepared for flying up here today. I went round to Ketrina’s house this morning and I did a 5k run, which is about 2.5 miles! I’m really proud of myself, and only stopped for in total about 7 or 8 minutes to walk, and the run took me 30 mins so I’m not as unfit as I thought! I wasn’t running very quickly though! We then had a lovely big breakfast, which was a bit rushed as we hadn’t noticed what time it was. I had to be at the airport for about 2 and we didn’t start cooking until about 1.20! Oops! Stephan (ketrina and Ray’s friend) drove us all to the airport, but luckily there was a huge queue so I wasn’t late or anything, and that’s where the good bits end!!

Firstly, there was this old woman in the queue who kept ramming me with her trolley! Secondly, there was this really irritating girl sat behind me on the plane who would not shut up! She was really really loud and at one point the airhostess had to tell her to shut up, as no-one could hear the safety procedures! She also kept kicking my chair and accentuating her stories by stamping her foot on the floor, which was really annoying! Then, I got off the plane and called the hostel to pick me up, but the receptionist didn’t pass on the message, how cute, and so I had to wait 50 minutes, to be picked up for a 10 minutes journey! I would have just paid for a
Ketrina and The Other ChristinaKetrina and The Other ChristinaKetrina and The Other Christina

Was going to put the one of us all on but it was blurred. So if anyone has a better one would be great if you could email it to me!
taxi if I’d known! I then got to the hostel and the receptionist was about as friendly as swarm of angry bees and put me in a mixed dorm hostel, when I’d asked for a single sex (boys smell!). I then went down to change my room and another receptionist put me in another mixed dorm! Are these people fucking stupid?! Its not rocket science! Anyway, I went back down, again, and made them give me free internet, which I haven’t been able to use because seemingly they have 6 computers for the whole hostel, including the ones in the café across the road, and two of those are broken!

So I thought, “the God’s of travel are obviously trying to tell me something, I’ll just go to the travel desk downstairs and book an overnight excursion to Cape Tribulation tomorrow!” Oh, no silly me, what a stupid thing to assume that would be easy! All the hostels in Cape tribulation are booked up, until Wednesday! So now, I’ve had to do a day tour on Tuesday that actually costs more than the overnight tour, as everything else is booked up for the cheaper options! What’s happening? Why are some many people where I want to be?! Why can’t they all fuck off back to which ever shit little country they came from in the first place? I’m British and therefore everything should be handed to me on a silver plate and I actually shouldn’t have to work for anything or experience any stress in making stuff happen! And don’t forget its Queensland (which I love but that’s not the point) and so EVERYTHING takes ten times longer than anywhere else to achieve, that’s including peoples thinking and processing of information!!!

I am actually joking about the British bit, but as you may be able to tell I am actually on the verge of throwing a tantrum! I wonder how effective stamping me feet would be? Hmm I’m thinking not that much either! So now I’m in a mixed dorm with a German guy and a Korean girl! At least this room is clean though, in comparison to the other one which was a state! And the story gets better! Apparently, Gilligan’s (the hostel) is now all booked up tomorrow and so I either have to go down to reception first thing to see if there are any free rooms, or change hostel. Each of which option is really annoying! I think its best if I leave this place though, as its clearly not a place that I sold be staying! It is a beautiful hostel, more like a hotel but still, I don’t like it now!! I’ve taken my bat and ball and I’ve gone home, to bed, with hot milk and my teddy bear!!

Anyway, rant over (can I just add one last thing, that this keyboard is an odd size and so I keep hitting this key . So whilst I was having my rant, it, as in , kept appearing all over the place and I’ve now had to go back and take all the out. Someone is actually having a good laugh at my expense), tomorrow I’m booking my Greyhound bus ticket and making sure I can actually leave on Wednesday for Mission Beach I think. I’m going to book my hostel there tomorrow and so I definitely have somewhere to stay! And tonight, I was going to watch the film that’s on in the tv room (there’s a tv and kitchen on every floor, a gym, a club bar and café and a swimming pool attached to the hotel. Plus, most of the dorms have French doors that open out onto a shared deck! How posh! It’s really expensive though), however, now I’ve got to arse around trying to find an alternative hostel, as apparently every where’s fully booked, oh what a surprise!

Anyway, hope you’re all splendid! Let me know what you’re all up to! Take care


Love me!!


Advertisement



10th July 2006

You poor dear...
Hey Luv, Well it sounds like you are having quite the time of it up north! I must admit I was peeing myself laughing at your little tanty. I am sure it will all sort itself out. If not, you know you are loved and wanted back in good ole Bris-vegas ;-) Kristina
19th July 2006

bugger the buggers
yo sounds stressful but at least your not at shitty work on what is set to be the hottest day on record in england in a breezeblock building with a tin roof doing the most tedious data entry god ever thought of! im still jealous but also too skint to do much about it-went to awesome bike rally tho at weekend lots of beer bikes and big hairy rockers/bikers got frizzled and arseholed which i intend to repeat this weekend! email you proper soon take care love u xx

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb