Wow What A Week


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
July 16th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi All

As you may be able to tell from the title, I’ve had the most fantastic week!

After last Sunday’s debacle, I got up early went to the hostel gym and had a good run! Then, I checked out into another hostel called Gheckos, and got a single room for the price of a dorm! I then went into Cairns central and went to a really travel agents, called Happy Tours, and booked my Whitsundays and Fraser Island stuff. The guy was really helpful and spent ages helping me choose things that I really wanted to do!

That night, I met Martine, who I’d met in Brisbane and we went for a few drinks in Cairns. Was really tired but it seemed quite nice. Not too sure about the Woolshed though!

Tuesday I did my trip to Port Douglas, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation. It was sooo good! In Port Douglas we stopped off at a wildlife place, where there were loads of birds, kangaroos and crocodiles. I got my photo taken with a roo which was really amusing, it was huge!! There was also this snake that took a real liking to one of the girls and wrapped itself around her! She took it very well. On the way, we stopped at a lookout point, where we saw wild dolphins playing in the water. I’ve never seen them before and got really excited!

We next went to Mossman Gorge, which used to be a place for the Aboriginals before they got turfed out. Even though it was bucketing it down with rain it was so beautiful! A few of the guys went into the water which was freezing! Our guide was really good as well and really informative!

After, we went for lunch. I starting eating third and finished last, good girl Yates! We then went on a boat tour of the Daintree River and we saw wild crocodiles, snakes and some kingfishers. It was really good. The last place we went to was Cape Tribulation beach. We only had 40 mins there which would have been a real shame if it had been sunny. However, it was still raining so it didn’t matter too much!

The next day I got up really early and got the Greyhound bus down to Mission Beach. I stayed at the Backpackers Lodge there and the
A Cockroach In My RoomA Cockroach In My RoomA Cockroach In My Room

Eugh!! It ran out of my dirty pants bag!
people were so nice. It was raining quite heavily though and I got soaked when I went for a run on the beach. So I took some arty farty photos and then sat and at the hostel for practically all day!

Oops, I have to go as meeting some friends for tea! I’m doing the Whitsundays tomorrow until Wendesday so wont have signal! My email wouldn’t work today either. I’ll finish this when I come back. But if you have a look at the entries as far back as here http://www.travelblog.org/Australasia/Australia/New-South-Wales/Byron-Bay/blog-60767.html I’ve put more photos on!

Take care

Love Julie



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

A CookaburraA Cookaburra
A Cookaburra

Can't remember which one, or how you spell it! Its pretty though!
A Very Green LorrakeetA Very Green Lorrakeet
A Very Green Lorrakeet

Again, the spelling......
A SnakeA Snake
A Snake

This one is an olive green something something!
A CrocA Croc
A Croc

This one's in captivity
Another OneAnother One
Another One

This one had been snoozing in the pond! The pond was covered in a green plant and then everynow and then you'd catcha little snout poking out of the water! Very scary!
A Roo With A JoeyA Roo With A Joey
A Roo With A Joey

That's getting a bit big by the looks of things!
A CassowaryA Cassowary
A Cassowary

These are endangered and apparently are really dangerous! If you run away from them they charge at you and kick you! Oo eer
Mossman GorgeMossman Gorge
Mossman Gorge

It was raining quite heavily and still it was beautiful!
Cape Tribulation BeachCape Tribulation Beach
Cape Tribulation Beach

When its not raining, the sea is turquiose and the sand is white! Grey, grey, grey and grey, just isn't quite the same!
Mission BeachMission Beach
Mission Beach

Was very wet and rainy! The blurge of grey in the background coudl either be the sea or the sky, you pick!


17th July 2006

It had to come good
Sounds like you're now into the travelling alone rhythm and it's paying off. Keep going, it can only get better. P
19th July 2006

brits on tour!!
hey babe glad it got better wow its like i time travelled and responded then and now! not sure if these are working but i hope so wish i was there- not sure about the cockroach tho ewwww!!! dont know why i titled it brits on tour but it sounded good and i liked the fact that in the last blog you wanted everything on a plate well we are british get them ozzie crims to work harder goddammit!! got shwees email too speak soon love rachy xx

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb