Fun and Frollicks


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Fortitude Valley
June 17th 2006
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Girls Before Our Broncos MatchThe Girls Before Our Broncos MatchThe Girls Before Our Broncos Match

Jacky, Ketrina, Kristina, Me and Lyn
Hi

Two entries together, lucky you lot!! I’ve decided that a week’s entry at a time is the way to go, otherwise there’s just too much information. You can tell I’ve been in Queensland for a while, I’ve already got slower!!

The subject title refers to my plan to go to Perth (this should please mum!)/ I;ve been looking at flight prices and basically it would cost me about $1000 ish to go from Brisbane to Perth and then Perth to Cairns by plane, which is really expensive! What I might do is get a return flight to Perth and then get a plane either from Brisbane to Cairns or the other way, and then which ever way I don’t travel by plane, get a bus tour to do the rest of it! I need to go into a travel agents really but I keep forgetting. Plus, when you work its really difficult to find the time apart from the weekend and they’re so far apart! Hmm we’ll have to see. I would really like to go to Perth, and in itself it will only be about an extra $600 and a week of time, but I’m not sure if I have any of that. Although it does seem a shame not to see it while I’m here!

Anyway! This week has been another good week. Tuesday I don’t think I did anything and Wednesday I went to watch the second State of Origin Rugby match with Ketrina and co. again. It was a really really good match and this time Queensland won so it should make the final match really interesting. Apparently, last year New South Wales won all three matches so I think this was a real bonus. Drank a bit too much red wine though and felt thoroughly shite on Thursday at work. I think I might have been speaking absolute bollocks as well, which we all know would be a first for me!!!

Thursday at work we had a tasty Thai meal and Friday, most of the people in our office went to the local rugby match between the Brisbane Bronco’s and the Sydney Dragons. We bought a scarf and stuff to take with us and were gutted when Brisbane lost at the 47th second. I thought I was going to loose my voice from all the shouting. We went out for a few drinks afterwards and thankfully didn’t feel too bad today.

Tomorrow Sunday, Ketrina, Ray and Karmayne are doing a 10K run so I said that I’d go and cheer them on at the end. I didn’t realize though that the run ends at about 9 in the morning so that will be nice! And then tomorrow afternoon I think we’re going to go for a oicnic in New Farm and then Liz mentioned about going to a free comedy even in New Farm in the evening so I might see if the others want to do that as well. We were going to go Monday but didn’t realize that the leaflet was for Sydney, doh!!

Things at the hostel are a bit better, I feel more settled there now. Although this Irish girl has moved into our room and she’s really annoying. She’s a lovely person, I think, but she’s becoming infamous in the hostel for scabbing off other people and talking loudly about boring things to anyone who’ll listen. She doesn’t seem to have any concept about what’s acceptable either as the other night she woke us all up ( we all have to work she doesn’t) at about 12.40in the morning as her key card didn’t work but she could have taken it downstairs and gotten it reactivated instead of waking us all up! She leaves on Friday though so its no real drama, as they say here! Apart from that there’s a lovely German girl in the room and then me and Liz still.

Right, had better go. There’s some photos coming very shortly!

Hope you’re all well! Take care!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



18th June 2006

Well done you - again
Just got up and I find you wrote an entry - good start to the day, for both of us. While I was out yesterday Chris started seriously cleaning the house (you are no doubt aware that I have a horror of housework) so today I really must show willing and do some of the bits he didn't get round to. Not too pleasing a project but c'est la vie. So gritting teeth she reaches for duster and window cleaning fluid...............

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb