Day 49 - Change Change Change


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
July 25th 2009
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post



I know, I know I’ve been slack with the updates, no excuse, just days seem to be flying past, Mia now has THREE jobs, working in a local Tavern, Surf Shop and Coles Supermarkets, GOOD on her, she has tried really hard to do this, and I am very proud. She also moves into her own apartment right in the heart of Airlie Beach on Monday, full equipped like a hotel studio room, with a private balcony overlooking the marina and the Islands .. 2 swimming pools, spa, bar and restaurant how cool is that !!


On my front, well spent most of my time ferrying Mia round to job interviews and helping with all the paperwork, done a bit more for Jas & Jo with the business accountancy side, and got back into reading my books .. just started The Queen’s Conjuror” by Benjamin Woollet, a brilliant account of the Renaissance world of Dr Dee .. hard going but a good read. Can also recommend Paul Carters funny tales of life in the Oil Industry called “ Don’t Tell Mum I Work on The Rigs , She thinks I am a piano player in a Whorehouse”


Also had a brief encounter with a fellow writer, who drives Haulpacs ( VERY LARGE TRUCKS) in a mine-site for a living ... My first “coffee” date in over 25 years , and I think maybe the last for another 25 years .. boy it was nerve wracking , although we sat and yarned about books, life in the mines, and life on the road, after 4 hours I heard the best “ drop off” line ever, when she said goodbye and “ Don’t stop looking”. I am now convinced that I have special .. make that VERY special people in my life already, and they mean more to me than I think they know .. and yes YOU know who you are !! So The Beach Dweller is happy with his Soul Mates ....


Still losing weight .. down to 83kgs now, but feeling good, having cut out alcohol out of my diet for most of the week ... OK Mia, before you tell everyone, apart from the Rugby League State of Origin Finals last Wednesday, when Jas and I got a bit ragged towards the end of the night, and I took a detour down a very prickly embankment on the way back to my tent !! .. Still reckon that Jas pushed me !! That will also bring back memories too for Chris M, of a certain night out in Bridgetown, were the wobbly boots kicked in !!!


My Boy (Grant) didn’t manage to pass his driving test first time .. sounds like he had a grumpy examiner, and made a couple of basic errors, although I feel guilty for not “being there” for him .. this is the first time I can remember not being around to support and help the guy, and wonder if I hadn’t been 5500kms away things would have been different ....


My brother also let me know today that he still has some cancer cells hanging round after removing his Thyroid a few weeks ago ... will talk to him later today ... which will be good .. I know he will come through this ... I will send lots of healing energy his way .. we Druids are good at that .....


and after 26 years Susan and I have finally settled on our separation.... In many ways it is sad, because we once shared lots of good times together, but life must move on .. although it does feel good now to be completely debt free, own everything I have, and let my life undertake another new journey ...


Now Mia is settled I can start in ernest to plan the next part of my journey ..... more in the next update ... Till Later


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb