Day 9 - Airlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
June 11th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The big push to the Whitsunday Islands today, another chilly start to the day with minus 1 degrees, but staying dry.

The 780km drive was long and hard on the body, especially when following my trusted Tom Tom, to take the shortest route via the Clermont Connection Road, outback Queensland .. first 25kms was OK if only a single track bitumen road .. then 145 kms of gravel which ranged from reasonable ( able to cruise at 80kms per hour) to awful, where at times I was down to 15kms per hour .. I was concerned that the trailer would be bounced to pieces, and also the brake lines have been run under the axle so were very exposed when traveling in the ruts ... but my guides helped me through once again, and both The Suzi and The Tardis MkII made it through with flying colours .. without even cracking any of my Favourite Cape Bouvard Chardy !! .. although the same could not be said for my hands and back .. very tired after this part of the adventure.

So glad to pull the Jas & Jo’s driveway at 5.15pm after 11 hours on the road .... To see the guys waving madly from the balcony of their beaut Rainforest house, brought a massive smile back to my face. Sitting having a beer with the guys, we all commented that it only seems a couple of days ago that we were having a ball in Denham, WA when if fact it is nearly 12 months ago. Once again I feel I have know these guys for years and years, and proud to call them my friends.

I feel a chill out day in Airlie tomorrow ... and maybe a photo or two will be taken ...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb