The Wetsundays!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
January 28th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The BoatThe BoatThe Boat

Check out the weather
After another overnight bus, I pulled in to Arlie Beach at 09:30. It was hot and very humid. Magnums, the hostel that I was staying in, was a huge money making machine! The rooms were comfortable, if not a little off putting when you see mousetraps in every corner. The rooms were air-con’d which was a great break from the tropical climate. That afternoon I prepared for my sailing adventure around the Whitsundays. There were a couple of heavy showers, but nothing that worried me too much, as long as there was some sunshine most of the day I didn’t mind. My boat was called Samurai and was a 40ft Maxi racing sailing yacht.

Five minutes before I started my walk to the mariner it started to rain, heavy! The rain did not stop until the day after I got back. For the three days and two nights that I was on the boat, it rained none stop! There were 15 passengers and four crew aboard, so it got a little crowed below deck as people sheltered from the monsoon above. They were a good group and we made the best of the trip. The first night we played a
The CaptainThe CaptainThe Captain

We had a heaps wicked crew
few drinking games; I had splashed out on 4liters of quality Sunnyvale medium white wine for $8.50. Later that night the guitars came out and we bashed out a few tunes under the tarpaulin on deck.


The next day we anchored up at I got a dive in. The water was pretty murky, as the sea was choppy and the coral was spawning. I didn't see any major fish but it's still good to get diving practise in. The rest of the day spent sailing around the islands with a few stop offs. Owing to the rain the stops were only brief. We got some speed up on the water, which was good fun as the boat leaned with the wind up on to its side.

Unfortunately, due to the weather, my bed was drenched through from the leaking wall next to it. I tried to sleep above deck but got pelted by wind and rain! I didn’t really get any sleep for the two nights aboard. The night we got back there was free booze at the magnums hostel, which lead to a late night spent at the Irish bar, where there was live music and
DinnerDinnerDinner

Some of us packed around the table
then onto the Mama Africa club.

Whilst at magnums I caught up with some guys from further down the coast; Michele and Steve from the hostel in Coffs Harbour, Emma and Wai from the PADI course and Jackie and Kirsty from Brisbane.

The following day I caught the night bus to Cairns………



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My BedMy Bed
My Bed

Wet, hot and humid, my home for 3 days. I kept it tidy....not!
Tour OutingTour Outing
Tour Outing

Stopping off at tounge bay to soak up the surroundings, literally
Wet Weather GearCatalogue PoseWet Weather GearCatalogue Pose
Wet Weather GearCatalogue Pose

This is me modelling the latest in Whitsunday fashion with my best catalogue pose
Night TimeNight Time
Night Time

Watching the waves instead of sleeping
AirlieAirlie
Airlie

Kirsty, me and Jackie at Magnums enjoying some snakebite and black


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb