Cairns - Reef and Rainforest


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
February 4th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BohemiaBohemiaBohemia

Trev and I at the pool
The night bus was another long journey bit I managed to get maybe an hours sleep. I arrived in Cairns at 06:20, and caught the courtesy bus to the Bohemia resort. I was exhausted after 4 nights with out any real sleep and my words and actions were a little slurred! I had to wait until 14:00 before they would let me check into my room so the morning was spent doing some washing and enjoying a full English breakie.
Luckily I bumped into Kim and Trev at the hostel and they gave me a bed until check in, cheers guys!

The Bohemia was more of a resort than a hostel and there was an excellent pool and spa, and outdoor bar where every night a new film was screened on the large outdoor projector.

The must do’s in Cairns are the Reef and the Rainforest. After talking, some others and I agreed to hire a car for 2 days and drive to cape tribulation to see what the rainforest has to offer. It was a great trip. Emma, Wai, Michelle, Kirsty and Jackie and myself set off early and drove to the Lync Heaven campsite in the middle of the rainforest, stopping at Port Douglas for lunch and Mossman Gorge, for a dip, on the way. The number of insects and the sheer bloody size of the buggers is overwhelming, and despite the heat and humidity we retired to the cabin after a dinner of pasta with a full garlic chucked in to try and fend of the mozzies; it didn’t really work it but tasted gooood!

The following day was spent walking the rainforest and exploring Cape tribulation. We went on a croc safari but unfortunately didn’t see anything.

The other part of my Cairns encounter was diving the Great Barrier Reef. I got 6 dives on a live-a-board on the outer reef. The visibility of the water was brilliant and I saw a reef shark and patted a hawk-billed turtle, while it munched on coral. I also got the opportunity to go on a night dive, which is a totally different experience. I didn’t see any substantial fish but you can see there little red eyes looking out at you from the coral. It is a pair of green eyes that you need to worry about. This means SHARKS, and you wont see it
DinnerDinnerDinner

Jackie and Kirsty took pity on my dinner of banana and biscuits and made me pasta
until it is at your face! When under water the time passes really quickly and 40 mins bottom time goes in a flash. I also did my first unguided dive with a Dutch guy called Minnet.

For my final day in Cairns I caught the scenic sky rail and train to Kuranda, a village in the rainforest, where gold used to be mined.

After persuading the minibus driver at the hostel I got a free lift to the airport, where I flew onto Brisbane. I managed to get I lift off of a guy I met on the plan from the domestic to the international terminal, where I spent the night and flew out of Australia and onto the next leg of my trip in New Zealand.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Beach HeavenBeach Heaven
Beach Heaven

Palm Cove Beach on the way to Cape Tribulaiton
The GroupThe Group
The Group

Taken at Palm Cove
Beach PoseBeach Pose
Beach Pose

At Palm Cove Beach
Tree FrogTree Frog
Tree Frog

Some of the wildlife in the rainforest
Mind the jellysMind the jellys
Mind the jellys

A little exagerated in size!
Chavs on TourChavs on Tour
Chavs on Tour

Alot of campers had cool graphics
RefreshingRefreshing
Refreshing

Me taking a jump into Mossman Gorge
Fig TreeFig Tree
Fig Tree

After wraping around another tree and killing it off, this is what is left
Watch out for the KassowarisWatch out for the Kassowaris
Watch out for the Kassowaris

A local had altered the road sign to get his point across
The Kangeroo ExplorerThe Kangeroo Explorer
The Kangeroo Explorer

My home on the reef
Sky railSky rail
Sky rail

Over the Barron river
KurandaKuranda
Kuranda

I don't know what that Roo thinks he's doing to the Kassowari
Trigger FishTrigger Fish
Trigger Fish

Lurking in the coral, look at its teeth!
TurtleTurtle
Turtle

munching the coral
Spotty FishSpotty Fish
Spotty Fish

I think this is a potatoe cod


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb