Day Four


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Uluru
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It seems like a long time since i blogged and it is true. I am writing day four at the end of day 5. I can tell you that that the 13 to 13 members are stuffed!As I write, 5 kids are doing their diary entries and there is total silence. 13 is organizing dinner, jac and i are having a much deserved g and t. Anyway, enough formalities. Here goes. Uluru. wow. That's it. Speechless at points, verbal diarrhoea at others. So much to see, a long day. Headed to the cultural centre first and had a quick squizz. Then to the massive monolith. We all walked the 9.4 k's around the base. Too windy to climb but an experience i would not have missed. Amazing contrasts in colors , vegetation and shapes. Rock paintings were incredible. The new word of the trip - Wanka wanka - it means ochre and its the color of the dirt that is everywhere and in all of our things. I understand now what people were telling me when they said the dirt gets in, it really does! Kids had a swim after the walk. So proud of them, it was hot on the walk but there were smiles all around when they finished. Headed to see the sunset at Uluru. Kids played footy with the rock in the background. They did a human pyramid with the rock in the background. Fun and games. All with a wine and a beer. What an amazing experience we are all having. Still pinching myself and loving every minute!Bron x
My turn now, Jac that is. I'm getting out of preparing dinner by blogging. Technology is grand. Uluru was amazing. I was not prepared for the diversity of the rock itself and its surrounds. I thought it would be smooth and kind of rectangular. But its not. There are crevices and gashes and cliffs and enormous waves of rock that feel as if they will crash upon you. And I was not prepared for the colours, nor for the ancient stories attached to Uluru and its people. Walking around the base was fantastic and I felt a sense of achievement when we made it to the end. The kids were ace. General Complaints had many whinges early on, but he settled down until the last km or so when Daddy had to carry him. And Mima's legs really hurt in the early stages but she soldiered on and completed the walk with gusto! I think the water hole was my favourite spot. It was peaceful and there were birds around us and pretty foliage in the water. Tranquil.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb