Angie & Francine Reunion


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 12th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

July 12th
Austraila Here I Come!!!
Most of my packing was done last night so it's easy to get up and dress, check the room, eat a little something and go. However I have no money for the airport shuttle. I was hoping that the reception would let me pay for the internet with a card and get cash back but they won't. They said that Farouk's store would so I ran over there and they can only do Visa, but they are sorry and give me free can of sprite as a condolence. So I dash to the nearest ATM up the hill. So I make a record 50 meters run and return with the money and the shuttle is waiting for me. I collect my bags from storage and off to the airport very early, however I like to be so I can take my time and relax not rush to the gates.

My shuttle driver is from South Africa, I mistook him as a native Maori. He is of Malaysian and German descent. His ancestors were captured and taken as slaves to South Africa. The unique thing is he is proud to be an African. He is not a Malaysian African. He is thankful that his ancestors were able to survive and flourish in Africa. He emigrated to New Zealand for a better life as the opportunities are limited in South Africa for a brown man. He stated no matter where he lives he will always be an African. How nice to see that type of nationalism that focuses on the place and not the government.

At the airport I am early enough that there are no crowds and the employees are very helpful. My bag is just under the 23 Kilos (50 #) by a mere ½ kilo and my carryon is .05 kilos overweight but they let me pass on that one.

I forgot that I had that can of pop in my jacket pocket and I had to toss it. So much for a free gift. But I opened it and took a couple of sips so they couldn't drink it either.

The flight to Sydney is good, the movie "Due Date" is so funny and I LOL at many of the scenes.

Going through customs again and this time I have to show my food bars again and I am passed through with out incident and I am officially and legally in Australia

As I walk down the ramp, I spy a poster of Frangie waving frantically at me. There behind her is Francine!! We hug and squeal like school girls. What A great reunion you would think we haven't seen each other in 2 years.

We can't talk fast enough and that continues the hour and a half that it takes to get to Gosford. I get to see Francine's New Office and it looks really nice as the crisp blue highlights really jump out and is highly visible.

Just 10 minutes away we arrive at Francine's new place and it is really nice and the hardwood floors are beautiful.

Chris, Francine's son has prepared dinner and Francine helps to get things ready and I begin the process of sorting my bags and leaving somethings behind, while I travel to the outback. Dinner was delicious and Chris's cheesecake was fabolous and I had 2 pieces!!

Francine and I talked about some of our past adventrues and study a little bit about the upcoming trek to Papua New Guinea. It's late and I have and early morning flight to Alice Springs and the Outback.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb