Auckland - The last hurrah


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
July 11th 2011
Published: July 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Maori Haka Dance 87 secs
July 11th.

The latest I have slept all vacation. A late 7:30 this morning. No big plans for the day so a late start. Suppose to rain all day according to the weatherman. But just like back home they are wrong. The day is just beautiful and not a drop all day.

I walk to the Auckland Museum about 15-20 minute trip across the Grafton Street Bridge. The Museum is a very large building and it take several hours to go though all the exhibits and the Maori cultural show. When they ask for volunteers, of course I go up and participate in the Poi dance using the poi balls. ( a pom pom at the end of a string) They use these in most Polynesian cultures. I think I am pretty good but there is no photos to share. But I will perform in person any time you want to see the poi dance.

The museum covers many islands in Oceania area. It also has a war memorial for all the the NZ soldiers.

I decide to have lunch at a recommended restaurant by my hotel manager, Mai Thai and I have the Chicken Pad Thai
Day at the MuseumDay at the MuseumDay at the Museum

Auckland that is.
and it's good but not the best. The best was in St. Louis, MO and in the back country of Panama.

Walking down Queen street the shopping and food districts, I spot a Katmandu sportswear shop and I have to get some things. A BIG SALE going on. I do need a waterproof cover for my back pack and replacement shoe laces. I also get a travel shirt and pants that zip off to capris. Get deals but where to pack them!!!!!!

I stop by to talk with Farouk and this time he charges me $1.00 less for my soda. See, it does pay to be nice. I return to my hotel for a hot shower and downtime to write this blog and pack for the flight tomorrow to Sydney. I chat with Francine and am getting excited to start my adventures in a new country. It will be nice to Francine as it has been two years since our last adventure. But it will only be for the night as I fly out solo again to do the Outback, Darwin and Cairns before returning to Sydney where the 2 Blondes on Holiday will start back up again. This time with Frangie Ross taking center stage. Karen Ross is a friend of Francine who will be with us in Papua New Guinea. Those of you who don't know Frangie Just Wait!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

TOO MUCH REALISMTOO MUCH REALISM
TOO MUCH REALISM

creepy cockroaches
Maori tikiMaori tiki
Maori tiki

The tongue is to indimidate
Homemade movie camera by Rudall HaywardHomemade movie camera by Rudall Hayward
Homemade movie camera by Rudall Hayward

1900-1974 the father of NZ film.
NZ humor once againNZ humor once again
NZ humor once again

the high voltage boxes are painted over
Obama AdsObama Ads
Obama Ads

seeking to fill spots from his island homeland for his DC home?


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb