My life in Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It all came down to pushing the button 'DO IT' shouted Sue, so I did! I'd gone and booked a flight to Sydney for a weeks time! Ahhhhh exciting!!!

Had a 'few' goodbye's with my Melbourne friends and dins with Sue and James, and before I knew it , I was saying 'seeya Melbs' and off to the airport. I had sooo many mixed feelings, all revolving around the scared as hell feeling and I'm about to wet myself excited feeling! I was doing this on my OWN...Oh my God! The flight was so quick, and then I was in Sidders. I talked a German fello into walking me to the street I needed for my hostel, said farewell and walked..walking straight passed my hostel! Was starting to feel abit aggie, as I was hot and bothered with my man sized backpack on again, so decided to pop into a bar called Malonys. Of which I then found out was directly next to my hostel, Maze. I still thought I deserved a little rest, so brought a nice cold drink and sat out front and watched the people of Sydney getting on with their days.

After witnessing a few 'crazies' I checked into Maze and happily slung my bag into my 6 bed dorm...as no one was in there, I decided to go for a stroll. An hour or so later, after I strolled out of a lovely clothes shop, my friend from home txt me. I knew Simon (Si) from when I lived in Norwich, about 4 or so years ago and hadnt seen him since. We met, had a drink and before I knew it, he offered me a job with the promotions company Route 69! AWESOME! Route 69 offers various nights out/activities mainly aimed at backpackers, but whoever fancies it gets involved! Our main sell was the party bus on a saturday night.
Today was Wednesday...Wednesday was Route 69's wet-t-shirt night! I arranged to meet Si at Maze that night. There I met my gorgeous Chloe, drank some Goon (poor excuse for box wine) and jumped on the bus for my first of million visits to Scary Canary! Met so many people my first night, it dawned on me...I can do this!!

Over the next few days I met more people through Route 69, including my beautiful Dutch friend Charlotte-who should of been on her way up the East coast, thank thankfully for me, she missed her bus! The Saturday night was great on the party bus, we had soooo many people! We started off at Scubar, off to Coogie, Bondi Junction, back to Scubar, Scary Canary, then ended the night at Kingscross. All my Route 69 team were staying at the Base hostel, which was right next to Scary Canary, so with little persuasion, I decided to move myself over to Base and start my Sydney life!

I soon got work through an agency, working for various Children Centres around Sidders. Lots of early mornings (and late nights, thanks to Route 69!)

Words can't describe how amazing the people were ( so I wont even try!) There was a lot of long termers at Base, so we all got really close, really quickly. Including the Base and Scary Canary staff. Obviously you make your 'close' friends, my family included Fi, Chloe, Charlotte, Si, Kyle and Jack! We often had PJ days in the TV room, and family dins! We also had plenty of extended family too 😊

Mum and Sue came to visit me whilst in Sydney. They got to see where I lived and meet my people!! Was sooo amazing to see them, especially as I hadn't seen Mum in a bout 10 months. Of course she cried, as she introduced me to the nice man serving us coffee 😊 We had lover dinners at Darling Harbor, Mum experienced a Scary Canary night and we just had a great few days together. Was sad to see them go, but knowing I was seeing Mum in a few months made it easier. Was so good to see Sue too, my Melbourne Mum!

So..I spent a lot of my time working and hanging out with my hostel people! Sydney will ALWAYS be one of my fondest traveling experiences. The city itself was gorgeous, I felt so at home among the massive skyscrapers, walking around Darling Harbor and absorbing the stunning opera house and Sydney bridge! I'm definitely a city girl!!! The people topped it off, they were some of the most awesome people I've met and I know I've made life long friends!

We survived our fast paced life styles with as much veg as we could afford-to go in our instant noodles! $1 coffee from the God send that is 7/11 and lots and lots of laughing! I'll never forget my incredible Sydney life and can't wait to go back!

May 26th was the day to leave, after talking Dutchy (Charlotte) into coming with me, we left Scary Canary at 5am to catch our flight to Christchurch, New Zealand! A new adventure!!!

Sob sob...bye Sidders, miss you already!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb