Well it had to happen eventually I suppose!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 19th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As anybody who's been following my blog for the past while will know and as Niamh and Mark will testify the past few weeks I've become slightly accident prone or maybe just plain clumsy! Well today I paid the price for it...


Yesterday I went to Paddys Markets, which is apparently a bit of an institution in Sydney & I bought a few bits. I met an elderly man at one of the stalls, who was very interested in me when he heard my accent, he asked about 50 questions. When he heard I was a teacher he said they were crying out for teachers here & he figured I should just move here, to get away from 'the terrorists' because he maintained it was only going to get worse in England and at home and that if I lived here I'd be well protected. He said if I moved here and Sarah stayed on well then Mum and Dad might eventually qualify for citizenship too. Although he figured I shouldn't teach in Sydney cause I'd be put into a school with as he put it 'all those foreigners'. He then proceeded to scare the living daylights out of me about bag snatchers! You meet all sorts!!

I took it easy last night and was in bed reasonably early as the rain pelted off our carriage (I'm sleeping in a converted train carriage!!). I set an alarm for 7.30am cause I wanted to see and do as much as was humanly possible today but the rain was still pelting down so I rolled over and was secretly quite glad to do so. I stayed in bed till just after 10 - my first lie in in weeks! Got up and decided that because it was raining I couldn't really go do most of the touristy stuff so I decided to go shopping. There's a really nice girl in my room called Jane, who's a vet and is here for a convention & she said she'd go shopping with me. We first went to QVB but it was very posh & full of designer shops so we strolled around there and then headed for Pitt St Mall which was a bit more in my range. I bought a few bits and we just tried to stay out of the rain. I swear I've never seen rain like it and it's 9.15pm now and it doesn't appear to be stopping anytime soon.

Anyhow to the fun stuff, we came out of one shop and needed to cross a pedestrian street to go to another shop, so we ran and I slipped on the pavement and landed in puddle, but very awkwardly on my ankle. So lots of people came over and I did my best to get up, but I knew I was in trouble with my ankle. So I went into a shop, took off my shoe and my ankle was swollen to the size of a golf ball. When I felt able I got a cab back to the hostel & stopped in a pub en route to ask the bar man to put some ice in a plastic bag for me. I hobbled back to my room and took off my shoe again, it was now the size of a tennis ball and badly bruised. So I lay on the bed full of self pity with the ice on it. My vet friend reckons it's just badly sprained. I contemplated going to the hospital but I think it just needs rest. Which is exactly what I don't want to do for the next 3 days, I've so much to see and so little time to do so. I planned to walk the legs off myself for the next 3 days but now I might have to resort to doing a bus tour of Sydney & join the OAP's in the Blue Mountains!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



19th August 2007

Spellings!!!
Katie what have i told you about rechecking your work!!!Only joking. Oh my god i think i got the raw end of the slepping arrangements in Brisbane. That carriage looks fab.Very jealous.You poor thing, hope your anlkle is alright.See you soon

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb